Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

Clapotis Update / Frustration

2 Comments

The Clapotis is moving right along. I added a second ball not too long ago and I’m eight rows of dropped stitches into it and I am going to be dropping the ninth on the next row. I am happy with how it is turning out but (and here’s where the frustration comes in) the second ball of yard doesn’t match the first and it’s driving me crazy. Yes, I know I am working with hand-dyed yarn, and it’s to be expected, and it’s part of the beauty, and no one will (or has) really notice(d) it but I just can’t let it stop bothering me. I know it is super-anal of me but I can’t let it go. Any suggestions? (I’ll post some pictures later…)

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Clapotis Update / Frustration

  1. Thank you for your comments RE the hole(s) in my Clapotis. The great thing about this pattern will be that people will notice the dropped stitch area first – so maybe when completed the difference in colors won’t be noticeable. Also, the average person is going to see this garment when it’s being worn – which will drastically affect what they can see. I doubt the average person will be able to see the variation in color!
    HTH,
    Amy

  2. i think it depends on what you mean by “doesn’t match.” if it’s a color thing, in terms the shades or patterning being different, you could alternate skeins. i’m sure you don’t want to rip back, but at least you can vary it a bit with any skeins you have left. or, (i’m not sure which yarn you’re using), something i’ve done when knitting with long color runs such as in a lot of noro yarns, you can break the yarn and start the next skein where you left off on the first. you can always use up the next bits later on where appropriate.

    these are very simplistic solutions, but i hope they can help! and yay for boston (are) knitters!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,069 other followers