Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

Some thoughts on Project Spectrum…

1 Comment

Over on her blog, Lolly has a very interesting post about Project Spectrum. Now great minds must think alike because I was thinking about the PS colors and set up last night. So I made the following comment:

This is a really interesting post and I was actually just thinking about this issue last night. I’m probably going to post my thoughts in depth later today but in the meantime let me say that Project Spectrum has been very successful in making me think about color, but not in the way I intended.

This is my first Project Spectrum and when I began I was hoping to explore each of the color triads over the two months in both my photography and my knitting. At the beginning that’s what I did, but somewhere along the way my motivation changed (I think it was April with the greens.) Project Spectrum helped me to realize that I have been stuck in a bit of (okay a big) color rut, especially in my knitting. I love pinks, reds, oranges and yellows and many of my knitting FOs reflect that, BUT knitting my green PS Clapotis rekindled my love for the cooler colors.

I had been all but ignoring that side of the spectrum but PS forced me to stop doing that and now I’m obsessed. I tried to start a red project for this triad (and because I have tons of red in my stash) but it is really blue that is calling to me. So I frogged and I am going to do the project in blue.

Anyway, the point is that I think PS can be many things to many people. I loved the structure of two months (I’m a slow knitter) and I enjoyed the color triads because it gave me more to think about. I think what’s helped me the most is being flexible in my thinking – yeah, I am knitting something blue in the “wrong” period but I’ve spent a lot of time with red (black and metallics too, come to think of it) and it has been great to rediscover old favorites. Thanks for creating this project, I know I am enjoying it!

The best thing I’ve gotten from PS is the rediscovery of some old favorites – blues and greens (and to a lesser extent purples.) Now way back when I was in high school I would have said, without hesitation, that green and blue were my favorite colors. Somewhere along through the years that changed and I fell head over heels in love with the warmer hues, especially reds, pinks and oranges. During that time I learned how to knit, and looking at my FOs I saw only warm color projects until I started my green Clapotis.

That green was like a breath of fresh air (or a cool drink of water, to use all the clichés!) and I became obsessed. I started noticing how pretty blues and greens are, how soothing, how deep and rich they can be, and basically I fell in love all over again. And like any new love affair I can’t get enough. I still like my pinks and reds but they can’t capture my attention like my “Azul profundo” Malabrigo can (*sigh* my next project, I’m casting on today!)

So for me PS has been very successful. It made me look at colors that I had neglected (why?!?) and rediscover them. It made the whole color wheel my playground and it gave me the freedom to explore all of its spokes. It also started me on a crazy new love affair with color, just what I was hoping it would do. Thanks PS and thanks Lolly for this!

Author: Marianne Gries

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Some thoughts on Project Spectrum…

  1. i’ve never checked out project spectrum, but i think i will. this post had such great insights on color, what we’re drawn to, etc. i find myself going through color phases, and this seems like a great way to experiment with new ideas.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,024 other followers