Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

Three projects on the needles

3 Comments

Life’s been moving right along here – I can’t believe that it’s August already! The Folk Fest last weekend was a great time. Gist and I went all three days, ate a ton of food, listened to some great music, and just had a lot of fun. Sunday was especially nice because Kristin, AJ and Morgan came up and it was fun to do the festival thing with the kids. Of course I took pictures, they’re here, along with pictures from Festivals past.

Some, but not much, knitting has been happening this week. I am slowly plugging away on what should be the fastest project ever – Gist’s wristers:Gist's Wrist Warmers

One is done and I am making progress on the second. The pattern is the Hand/Wrist Warmers from Last Minute Knitted Gifts, the yarn is Malabrigo Worsted in Hollyhock and the needles are cheap aluminium size 7 circs.

I have also cast on another Shetland Triangle. Now, I started my first Shetland Triangle in Newburyport while I was on vacation. I cast on using my skein of red Schaeffer Anne and a size 6 circ. I worked on it diligently until I was about halfway through. Then, I returned to work and decided to knit it in my first staff meeting back. Bad idea! I made an un-fixable mistake and had to riiiiiip all they way back. Boo.

I then decided I was sick of red and dying to use my Azul Profundo Malabrigo. After doing some research on Ravelry I cast on with a size 9 Addi on Wednesday. I’m making progress:Shetland Triangle

I am in love with the color and really enjoying the pattern – it’s my “thinking” project because I have to pay attention while I am knitting. Because I can’t knit this during meetings, bar trivia, etc. I started…

…a Big Ole Scarf/Stole! It is going to be just miles and miles (or 940 yards) of straight stockinette. See:Big Ole Scarf/Wrap

It is lace weight Malabrigo in Bobby Blue on a size 9 Addi. Kind of boring to knit but perfect for those times when I just want to be on auto-pilot: meetings, bar trivia, when I’m tired, when I am socializing, etc. I also think that once I get through it it will be lovely to wear. As I mentioned in my last post I’ve re-discovered blue and the color and feel of this yarn are amazing. What I’ve knit so far is so soft and delicate – I can’t wait to wrap myself in it!

So there you have it – three projects to keep me busy during any occasion! This weekend should be fun and full of knitting – Gist and I are heading up to Bennington, VT for three days. I am looking forward to both our time there and the 6 hour ride!

Author: Marianne Gries

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Three projects on the needles

  1. Only we knitters look forward to a six hour ride.

  2. do you love working with the malabrigo worsted? i bought some for my birthday and cannot wait to cast on, it is just so soft and the colors are gorgeous!

    when i was at my lys that day they were showcasing the new malabrigo lace weight, which also was like spider silk spun by baby angels. or something. do you love it?

  3. I love the malabrigo worsted but not as much as the lace weight. It is excactly like spider silk spun by baby angels and it knits up into this delightful soft and cloud-like fabric. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to knit with any other yarn again!

    This is not in any way meant to take away from the malabrigo worsted because it is very nice – it just isn’t magic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers