Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

And life gets in the way…

1 Comment

A week in pictures
Isn’t that always the case? I started this blog (and my Project 365) as a way to prevent that from happening: I hoped that I could use both projects to take some time to reflect on (or at least chronicle) what goes on in my day-to-day life because I feel like so many things just slip by me. But that’s the rub – those things (some important and some not) fill up the space and take over and push the to-do list item “blog” way on the back burner and then it’s a week (or a month) later and I’m like “What, exactly, have I been doing with myself?” One of my favorite things about this blog is that it gives me the opportunity to look back and read old entries and remember the act of knitting a specific project, making a meal, reading a certain book, or something else that might have been forgotten.

So, I have made a mosaic of my last week of 365 pictures (above) and I am going to write a paragraph or two about each of them…


Day 332 - Sunday, September 16th 2007

Sunday, September 16th 2007

What a fun day! I puttered around in the morning and prepared the ingredients for Butternut Squash Soup to go into the crock pot and the ingredients for Sage and Cornmeal Bread to go into the bread machine (and coming home and having supper made was awesome – I am lovin’ the crock pot.) Gist tutored and by the time she got home at 1:00, supper was cooking away and we headed off to Worcester for stART on the Street.

It was a really great show with a lot of cool things but I would have to say the highlight was meeting Liz from Made in Lowell! Liz and I are internet friends and it was my first time meeting her in person – it was very exciting. When I was a child I always liked the idea of pen pals and meeting, through letters, people from faraway places. The internet makes that so much easier and, sometimes, those people actually live right near you – fun! So I met Liz and was also able to get the perfect pin for my winter jacket. Which brings me to…Day 333 - Monday, September 17th 2007

Monday, September 17th 2007

Now, I have to confess that I don’t really remember anything about this particular day. I must’ve worked and then come home and taken this picture. This is my new pin and I am very excited about it, almost excited enough to wish that it were time to wear my winter coat! I love it – it matches perfectly with my coat and the items I am knitting (sloooowly) to go with it.Moon Over Lowell, MA

Tuesday, September 18th 2007

Okay, went to work. Found out that neither Yovani or Katy could go to trivia. Spoke with Gist and decided that we wouldn’t go either (mainly because we worried about the possible of horrible, bad, annoying trivia guy.) Went home. Looked at Flickr and saw this shot. Got inspired. Took this picture (that I really like) on the walk to Hookslide Kelly’s where I met Gist and Yoli for supper. Ate a cheeseburger – it was delicious! Day 335 - Wednesday, September 19th 2007

Wednesday, September 19th 2007

Well the caption on this shot pretty much sums it up: “Tonight I watched Murder on the Orient Express and knit my Shetland Triangle. I added the last ball of yarn so the end is in sight!” The only thing I’d like to add to that is that I also made a very tasty vegetarian shepherd’s pie for supper.Day 336 - Thursday, September 20th 2007

Thursday, September 20th 2007

Ah, Thursday. Now Thursday’s picture (inadvertently) speaks to the proverbial elephant in the room – my job. Now, this blog is not the proper place to get into what is happening with work but it certainly is one of the things that gets in the way of life. It’s a temporary condition and not all bad, just big and overwhelming and a lot to process. Anyway, Thursday was a positive day but also one in which I wasn’t able to take a picture until right before I went to bed. And so I give you…my alarm clock.Day 337 - Friday, September 21st 2007

Friday, September 21st 2007

Now this picture was taken at work. These lovely young ladies are a part of the youth activities club and they are practicing to preform next weekend at the annual meeting. They are great kids and are symbolic of a whole lot of things that I absolutely love about my job and that I hope will continue.Day 338 - Saturday, September 22nd 2007

Saturday, September 22nd 2007

Ahhhh, yesterday! Gist and were supposed to go to the Cape this weekend but Gist has a terrible cold and so we didn’t go. It was hot and we didn’t do much, both because Gist is sick and I am currently fighting getting sick. We ran errands, came home, and I went down the street to take this picture. I love how these two trees change color at different times so, for a brief moment in mid to late September, one is bright red and one is bright green. I made a huge Italian feast for supper – spaghetti and veggie meatballs in homemade sauce, garlic bread from scratch and salad. Then we watched Perfect Stranger – it was okay – and went to sleep.

So that’s it. My week. Today I have written this (and can now cross it off of my to-do list) and I am making a Pinto Bean Chili with Corn and Winter Squash in the crock pot (seriously, I love it.) I want to knit, take a walk in the woods, and watch a movie with the rest of the day.

Author: Marianne Gries

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “And life gets in the way…

  1. That last photo has me so jealous. It’s still freakishly warm out here in the midwest! I love the reddish orangey leaves, they’re so warm and festive. I hope you don’t get sick, and that Gist feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers