Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

Rhinebeck dilemma!

3 Comments

First – Rhinebeck – YAY! I am soooooooo excited!

But! I can’t decide what to do about my yarn budget – I have many, many projects in the queue and the yarn to knit all of them (and then some) in my stash. I also know that I am going to want to buy yarn while I am there. I don’t want to buy random yarn without a project in mind but I just can’t think of any projects that are lacking yarn – what should I do?

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Rhinebeck dilemma!

  1. Buy yarn in specific amounts. Say, enough worsted weight for a sweater, as it’s a common weight and amount; enough for a shawl in laceweight; enough for socks in fingering, etc. That’s what I did at my first festival and it kept me in line!

  2. I agree with much -adored. I’ll usually make a list of how much yarn I need for specific projects (sweater, socks, etc.) and take the list with me so I don’t just buy at random. Of course if there’s yarn you really, really love and you don’t want to buy a whole bunch, you can always make a scarf! Have fun!! I love your blog!

  3. Thanks for the comments and advice! I am still struggling with what to do and since I can’t make up my mind I am going to bring $150 in cash for yarn and my copy of The Knitter’s Handy Guide to Yarn Requirements and when I fall in love with something I’ll get enough for a scarf or socks or whatever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,069 other followers