Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

You’re here for the sheep* – Part II

9 Comments

Yummy Yarn
Rhinebeck was AMAZING! I know I keep saying that but it really was. I wasn’t really sure of what to expect and, to be honest, I was worried that this whole Rhinebeck adventure might be a little too crowded and overwhelming for me to handle. That was not the case at all – it was great fun!

Leading up to the weekend I had been religiously reading the Ravely forums to prepare myself. I knew I wanted to get some maple sugar cotton candy, that there would be lots and lots of fiber-y goodness and that (some) people dropped lots of dollars over the weekend!

Warning, picture heavy post ahead…

Katy picked me up at 7:00 am on Saturday, we picked up Yovani, got coffee, and we were off! Saturday was beautiful: sunny and warm and the foliage was spectacular. I think I may have uttered the phrase “nature’s splendor” at one point – ahem. The drive was scenic and passed quickly and we were at the fairgrounds by 11:00 am.

Say
Katy & Yovani say “Rhinebeck!”

We got our bracelets and headed off into the wonderful, wool-y goodness. We didn’t have a plan so we found the bathrooms, checked out the sheep auction, and then started going back and forth between barns in some semblance of an order.

Sheep Auction
There were so many amazing things on display that Saturday is just a jumble of gorgeous yarn, see:

Yay!  Yarn!
Yovani bought the first skein of yarn

And cute animals:

Sheep
And the most adorable little woolen pumpkins:


And when we got overwhelmed, we did what any sensible people would – we took a sit and knit break.

Knitting Break
The foliage and fairgrounds were lovely.

And of course we went to the fancy food and wine building where we ate some maple sugar cotton candy and fried pickles.I LOVE Cheese!
Mmmmmmm, cheese!

I love these men.
I love these men – they’re responsible for the maple sugar cotton candy

Fried Pickles!
We tried to go to the Ravelry party on Saturday night but the name of Riccardi’s Hideaway proved to be all too accurate. We spent at least an hour driving all over Kingston looking for it until we (d’oh) realized we could call them and ask for directions. By the time we found the place the giveaways were happening, the party was in full swing and we were carsick and tired. Oh well…

We stayed at the Skytop which was a little, ummmm funky. I woke up on Sunday morning to the dulcet tones of buckshot.

Skytop MotelOn Sunday, we ate a crazy-good breakfast at Deising’s (we’ll be back) and headed back to the fair to buy, buy, buy, buy, buy. Okay, Katy and Yovani bought on Saturday but I still needed to, and I think they both might have picked something up as well. An then we headed into the parking lot to take some pictures of our purchases on the hood of a white Toyota from New Jersey (as you do.)

Yovani's Haul
Yovani’s haul

Katy's Haul
Katy’s haul

My Haul
My haul

And had a FO photo shoot.

Katy's FOs

Yovani's FOsAnd then we headed home, yarn drunk and happy!

* What a totally drunk lady asked us while we were in the bathroom at Riccardi’s. She couldn’t believe that the place had been taken over by knitters. It had both Katy and I in hysterics.

Author: Marianne Gries

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “You’re here for the sheep* – Part II

  1. You had great yarn pics! I can’t believe I didn’t take any. I don’t know if its just my computer or what but your pictures are really crisp and clear. They really capture the colors. What’s your secret?? What kind of camera is it? And how did you get away with so little yarn??

  2. It took us a good two hours to find Riccardi’s Hideaway, and we got there right before the giveaways started. I’m kind of relieved that I wasn’t the only person driving all over Kingston trying to find that place!

    Oh, and your pictures are beautiful. =)

  3. I can’t imagine a better use for a white toyota. Seriously, it was just begging for it. Also, it’s conjuring images of scantily clad yarn positioned on a car hood in a promiscuous pose. I’d hang it in my garage any time.

    Glad you had such a great time! I really enjoyed your photos, as always.

  4. Wow, such beautiful pictures. You guys are a knitting inspiration. I’ve fallen off the craft wagon recently, with all this baseball watching. My fingers are itching to just do something, already.

    Am really enjoying your tales from Lowell, who knew it was such a great little city?!?!

  5. thanks for the comment on my blog. your pictures are awesome as well! i wish i had remembered to take some of the yarny goodness while i was there… ah well

  6. Sounds like you had a wonderful time – and your photos are lovely.

  7. Nice photos! This is a great post with all the shots of yarn…looks like you did super well with the purchases. And how great to be able to spend 2 whole days :D

  8. Great pics! Yes, yes, here for the sheep…

  9. Thanks, everyone for the nice comments! Rhinebeck was great and it has been so nice to read everyone’s impressions of it. Only 360-ish days til next year…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers