Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

Day Five – Weekend Wrap-Up

3 Comments

Shetland Triangle Blocking
I have an FO to (sort of) show off today! The Shetland Triangle is finally done! This was a great project to knit and, at the beginning, it was pretty quick. Then I got about 3/4 of the way done and I just stopped knitting – that really hindered my progress. I cast off during the World Series and just got around to blocking it this weekend. The photo above is of the shawl all pinned out on the futon in my cra(p)ft room/office/guest room.

I really enjoyed this project – the pattern (I had to think but not too much), the yarn (Malabrigo, yummmm) and (if I were the type of person to actually wear shawls rather than just knitting them) the final product. I actually wore it to work today and received many, many compliments – always a nice feeling. I added a few (I can’t remember exactly how many) repeats of the body pattern and that, combined with a heavier weight yarn, made the final shawl much bigger that the one as written in the original pattern. I have always envisioned this as a “house shawl” to snuggle up with on a cold night and I think it will serve that purpose perfectly. If you’re on Ravelry, the specifics of the projects are here.

In other weekend news, Saturday was (weather-wise) a rotten day. We had a rainy nor’easter (my favorite storm but only when there’s snow involved) chock full of rain and wind and chill and general nastiness.

I did manage to brave the weather to go to a Merrimack Valley Cultural Economic Development Forum. It was interesting and I am really happy that it happened. It was a decent kick-off event and I hope that it will lead to a viable action plan, but at times it felt a bit like we were being fed an already decided-upon idea instead of brainstorming new ones. When I left I wasn’t completely clear of exactly what the objective of this meeting was and what the next steps (other than another meeting) will be. I don’t know if that’s because I was missing something, or if the organizers weren’t sure of what they were looking for, or if I just had a not-great facilitator for my break-out session, but I never felt that I was really participating in anything other than an exercise.

Small criticisms aside, I am really happy that the conversation is happening because I think it is incredibly interesting and important. I was also very impressed with the turnout, both in numbers and in the interest and enthusiasm of the participants. I am really looking forward to the next session.

Another Saturday highlight? Lunch with Gist at Etsogo, a new sushi/pan-Asian restaurant here in Lowell. Gist is a huge sushi fan and she was in heaven. She said that their eel rolls were some of the best that she’d ever had. I had a vegetarian udon tempura broth bowl and it was delicious. The food was tasty, the prices were reasonable, and Gist has a sushi place right down the street – we’ll be back!

Sunday was pretty chill – brunch at the Dream Diner (yum!), lots of laundry, some Big Brain Academy, a little football, knitting, and best of all – a new season of the Amazing Race!

Oh, it was also fall-back day and while the extra hour of sleep was nice it was not so nice to look out my office window at 4:45pm and have it be dark!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Day Five – Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. just beautiful work!!!!!!!!

    *I bow to your greatness*

    *-* giggles.

  2. I’ve been wondering about Etsogo – I’m going to have to check it out!

    And much love for the The Amazing Race – it was a great start to the season! :D

  3. The shawl looks lovely – no wonder you received so many compliments!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers