Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

Oh, hi there…

7 Comments

Wow, it’s been a long time! Summer has been trucking along nicely, the Lowell Folk Festival was, as always, amazing. My favorite act was the Beat Ya Feet Kings with Black Alley. The Beat Ya Feat Kings were finalists on America’s Best Dance Crew and they did not disappoint!

Day 204 - Saturday, July 24th 2010

Henrietta and I are still in love.

Day 209 - Thursday, July 29th 2010

I decided to dip my feet into the analog/film pool, with mixed results (more on that later.)

Because the cool kids are doing it...


I headed up to New Hampshire…

Akwaaba Kayak Team

IMG_0003

…And down to the Cape for a lovely and relaxing vacation.

Day 213 - Monday, August 2nd 2010

While I was on vacation, I shot two rolls of film. I brought them home, sent them out to be developed and discovered that due to a combination of user error and camera malfunction, not a single print was exposed. Boo. The problem seems to be fixed, I am working on shooting roll three and my fingers are crossed that everything will come out they way it should.

First Film Expiriment = FAIL!

I finished my Aestlight Shawl (Rav link), and Gist and I got to model it at the Lyle Lovett and his Large Band show at Boardinghouse Park.

Day 224 - Friday, August 13th 2010 - Aestlight Shawl

Aestlight Shawl
Gist asks why she always has to model my knitting FOs while I take the pictures. Um, this is why!

Lyle Lovett puts on an amazing show! He sang ‘Baby It’s Cold Outside’ (I do love winter!) with Kat Edmonson and it was the highlight of the show for me. The Lowell Summer Music Series lineup this year has been excellent. We’re seeing the B-52s this Friday at Boardinghouse, I’m really looking forward to it!

Lyle Lovett and His Large Band at Boardinghouse Park

I went to the New England Knits book signing at Hub Mills. It was so nice to see Cecily and Melissa again, and the book is out-of-this-world gorgeous. I have already ordered yarn for the Whale Watch Hat and there are a million other things I want to make.

Photo courtesy of New England Knits/Interweave Knits

Day 225 - Saturday, August 14th 2010

And now comes the point where I bury the lead completely – Gist and I adopted Simon, the most adorable pooch ever.

Simon!

Day 229 - Wednesday, August 18th 2010

Simon

Simon is a four-year-old that we adopted from Northeast Animal Shelter. We are totally and completely in love with him and so happy he is a part of our family!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

7 thoughts on “Oh, hi there…

  1. The shawl is lovely! The B52’s?! Soooo cool!

  2. I felt the same way about Beat Ya Feet Kings with Black Alley! Managed to catch them 3 times, including their closing at JFK plaza.

    Cute pup!

  3. Ah! Simon is so cute! Love your photos, New Hampshire must have been great that week, the weather has been so nice for vacation!

  4. Oh my goodness, I came upon your blog and LOVE IT! I am in the process of learning how to take better photos. I want them to look like yours….someday. I am so thankful for people like you that adopt animals. I myself have 4 dogs, 3 cats and a horse. My pet food budget is larger than our food budget. http://veggiesinmybelly.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,069 other followers