Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

2012: Year in Review

Leave a comment

Oh, 2012… What can I say about you? You were not the best year ever, although you brought some amazing and wonderful gifts. You were not the worst year, although you definitely brought some trials along with you. Mostly you were just weird and foggy and a little more challenging than you needed to be. Looking back, I think that everything ended up in mostly right places, but the getting there, oh the getting there, was not at all easy or clear.

A year in bike commuting...

I rode my bike for transportation more than ever this year, riding to work more often than driving or taking the bus.

Untitled

Rudy joined our family this year.

Our view

Uncle Eddy teaching Lou how to kayak

Paper Airplane Contest

We took an amazing trip to Chicago and Lake Delavan in June.

Totally worth the wait.

Happy fellas!

Keepin' it classy with my ginormous tumbler of vinho verde (complete with ice cubes!)

I got to spend a lot of time on the Cape with some of my favorite people (and dogs!)

Day 188 - Saturday, July 7th 2012

WOO! We match!

There were weddings…

SPLASHPAD!!!!

Day 195 - Saturday, July 14th 2012

Today's Folk Fest feast: Filipino! #Lowell #lowellfolkfest #lowellfolkfestival

Heading under the School Street Bridge...

Sweet Kiwi

And other fun summertime adventures.

Day 211 - Monday, July 30th 2012

Day 23 - Monday, January 23rd 2012

There was a little bit of knitting…

Fire Pit at the Harraseeket

String Theory Bluestocking

Getting a haircut

Miss Babs Color Affection Kit

And some fun knitting getaways!

Primates!

Gist got a new job! (She got the offer while we were at the zoo. Obviously.)

Smitten Garland

Advent Mitten #22: ladybug chocolate

And my year was rounded out with mittens. Lots of mittens!

So that was just a bit of my 2012. 2013 has started out pretty nicely, I hope it continues on this trajectory! I have some big plans for the year ahead, and I’m resolving to face any changes and challenges with all of the grace and good humor that I can muster! I managed to eke out an iPhone heavy Project 366 in 2012 and I hope to do the same in 2013.

Thanks so much to all of you who read this blog, I appreciate it! I wish that 2013 is the best year yet for all of us!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,068 other followers