Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

I love the winter weather…

1 Comment

Lowell, MA
Sunny and chilly.

It’s Monday! I am surprisingly tired and out-of-it today and I can’t seem to figure out why. Maybe I need more coffee.

Gist and I had a very nice weekend – I would say it was just about perfect. Friday night was the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics. Yay! I love the Olympics! The ceremony was (as always) long and bizarre. There was fire and passion and dancers and acrobats and opera and a race car and fireworks and all sorts of pageant and pomp. It wasn’t quite as metaphorical as the “Child of Light” nonsense from Salt Lake City but it had its moments. What can I say? All in all it was a satisfying spectacle. As I was watching I cast on for my Knitting Olympics baby blanket. The ceremony was four hours long so I was able to get a lot of knitting done.

Saturday was our favorite WinterFest! We love WinterFest! I had to work for a bit on Saturday morning but then Gist and I were able to head over to Lowla’s Land of Fun. We visited Oompa Lowla’s Chocolate Factory, sampled soup at our favorite North Bowl competition, browsed the Glacier Gallery (which wasn’t as impressive as last year), and caught some of the snow shoe and human dog sled races. We also did some browsing downtown – we went to the bookstore, a jewelry store, the Arts League of Lowell show, Brush Studios, and Brew’d Awakening. The weather was quite warm (in the 40s) and the sun was shining and we had quite a nice time.

Sunday was – THE BLIZZARD! Yes, we were hit with the biggest storm of the season. I love a good blizzard and this one delivered. When I woke up at 7:30 there were already about six inches of snow on the ground and it snowed all day long. We ended up with about two feet of snow on the ground. A snow day means one thing – excused laziness! I made a big Sunday breakfast and then spent the rest of the day reading, knitting, napping, and watching TeeVee. I didn’t shower or get dressed and I did a heck of a lot of snacking. I (finally) watched my TiVoed Sherlock Holmes Masterpiece Theater (quite good), I got some knitting done, I read and entire book (Love and Other Impossible Pursuits), and I watched a heck of a lot of Ed Harding, Heather Unruh, Harvey Leonard, and Dick Albert – Channel 5 had a blizzard marathon that started at 6:00 and ended at 4:00. Gist kept herself busy watching TeeVee, playing video games, checking her e-mail, and making a beautiful pocketbook just for me.

This week will be somewhat busy. Tomorrow I am going into Boston for a meeting with NeighborWorks which should be interesting. Before the meeting I am going to meet Amy, Scott and Seth for coffee. Wednesday night will be the first fundraising committee meeting, Thursday is a board meeting and Friday is an Our Voices meeting. Gist got my Amazon order today so I can start ‘Partying off the Pounds’ and experiencing some ‘African beats and Latin heat’ and tomorrow my new Danskos should arrive – yay!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “I love the winter weather…

Leave a Reply

