Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Knathlete? Not so much.

2 Comments

Lowell, MA
Cloudy & chilly – we’re supposed to get a dusting later.

How’s the Knitting Olympics project coming along? Not so well. As usual I was off to a rockin’ start and then my fickle hands got distracted by a new project. I knit most of this during the Opening Ceremonies thirteen days ago and I haven’t made any progress since then. So I’m definitely not medaling this time around – maybe in 2010 if I train hard enough. I feel a bit like Sasha Cohen at the Salt Lake Olympics: the potential is there but so is the ability to screw up. At least I don’t have Bob Costas analyzing my every dropped stitch and inability to focus on my sport knitting.

Lost was not on last night – boo hoo. That show has more repeats and it is annoying. Gist and I watched Death in Holy Orders on DVD and it was good but long.

Tomorrow Gist is taking the train because she is leaving for NYC right after work. She is spending the entire weekend with her sister Kate. The reason for the trip (other than Kate) is The Color Purple on Broadway. I’m sure they’ll both have a lot of fun and I kinda wish I were going to NYC.

I am going to go to Northampton with Nance on Saturday and indulge in my hobbies for the rest of the time. I am hoping for a weekend void of TeeVee and full of knitting, reading, sitting in cafes, shopping, and cooking. It should be fun!

Okay, it is time to get ready for work. Yesterday we made a plan for the launch of the Affordable Housing Campaign. I am happy with the plan, it seems do-able, and I am excited to get crackin’ on it. We’re going to have a spaghetti supper, a march, a clean-up day, and a festival – fun, huh? Today I must clean up my pit of a desk and tomorrow James and I have a proposal going out.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Knathlete? Not so much.

  1. you’ve got to finish that blanket before the baby is born for goodness sake! πŸ™‚

    i love that first paragraph.

    and i love YOU!

  2. I am glad you love the paragraph – are you so used to critiquing what I write for work that you’re just going to start doing it with everything I write?

Leave a Reply

