Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Brattleboro & Northampton

3 Comments

Lowell, MA
Sunny – it is supposed to hit 40 today, it’ll feel tropical after the cold snap we’ve had!

Yesterday was a lovely day. Gist had a Girl Scouts event in WMA so I was able to spend a fritter-day with Jere. We met at the Black Sheep at 9:00 am (early!) and Jeremy gave me my wonderful birthday presents – a lot of Hauschka and some homemade granola! We had some breakfast – a cheddar croissant for me and a bear claw for him – and then we headed up to Brattleboro, VT.

Brattleboro is a lovely little town – a progressive-ish mill town with lots of little shops. I think Lowell could be like it if it were in VT and if everything weren’t so marketed to yuppies. Anyway, we went to the Brattleboro Food Coop a lovely market that I wish were closer to me. Jeremy checked out the Hauschka and I checked out the produce.

Then we went to Main Street to do some shopping. We love shopping! There is a shoe store that sells Danskos (something I desperately wish Lowell had) and two book stores! First we went to Boomerang, a vintage store that had a lot of great stuff. Jeremy got a snazzy shirt and I got a groovy pink necklace and some super-cool shades. We also checked out some antique shops, a fancy bath & body shop, Turn it Up!, a bead store, and some book stores. We also had a delicious lunch. All in all we managed to fritter away six hours before we headed back to Northampton.

When we got back to Hamp, Jeremy was kind enough to go to Webs with me where I got some yarn to make felted slippers. I am having a hard time making the smaller socks (I finish the heel flap and then have problems) so I thought a larger project may be easier for learning – we’ll see. We then walked around Thorne’s (I finally got my pizza peel – yay!) and downtown and then we ended up at Haymarket to wait for Gist.

Gist, Jeremy and I had a delicious dinner at India House. Man, I love that place. I think it may be my favorite Indian restaurant ever. We all had mango lassis and the bread basket (I love naan!) and we each had a yummy entree. Jeremy had Muglai Biryani, a lamb and rice dish; Gist had Coconut Shrimp and Chicken that was out-of-this-world and I had (as always) Saag Paneer. It was all very yummy.

Then Jeremy left us and we met Debbie-Kai at Haymarket. We sat and chatted till about 10:30 (late for oldies like Gist & me) and then headed home. It was a very fun, if long, day!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Brattleboro & Northampton

  1. Did you have fun up here in Vermont…

  2. Vermont is a cool place to go and hangout…many tourist come to this state and see the wonderful mountains..but there is more to our state then just that…we are also the founders of syrup and stuff…hope you had fun…because living here is like living in the sunset of life……..

Leave a Reply

