Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Frittering

Leave a comment

Lowell, MA
Hot & Humid!

Portsmouth Lion

Jeremy and I had a great day of frittering yesterday. It was a first for us – a tri-state fritter. First we went to Portsmouth, NH.

Portsmouth is a lovely little town on the coast on New Hampshire. It has cute cobblestone streets, a working harbor, lots of red brick, a couple of drawbridges, and (most important for frittering) a lot of little shops, cafès and restaurants.

The weather was perfect for frittering – sunny and hot but not humid or too hot. We wandered through the whole downtown, saw a drawbridge go up and down, shopped, and ate a yummy lunch. We ate at the Portsmouth Brewery and it was very tasty. Jeremy had Black Bean Dip and I had a fancy salad. After lunch I got ice cream – yummm. As we were walking around we noticed that the lilacs were still in bloom – lovely.
Yarn

We also did some shopping. Jeremy got some things to do crafty projects: shells for decorating flower pots and necklace-making materials. I got some presents for Gist and some lovely yarn.

The picture doesn't really do it justice. It is han-painted sock yarn made by Seacoast Handpainted Yarns. It is very soft and washable and I love the colors. I can't wait to ball it up and bust out my needles!

Then we headed up to Portland, ME. Portland is also a charming little seaside city with a lot of red brick, cobblestone streets, a colonial feel, and lots of fritter-worthy establishments.

We walked around Portland and drank some iced tea and basically just talked and frittered the rest of the day away. It was quite lovely.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

