Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

The Big Day

Leave a comment

Lowell, MA
Sunny, hot & humid

The big day is here – the launch of the Our C.A.S.A. Campaign (for me) and Erica’s wedding (for Gist.) Thank heavens the weather is cooperating because both events are outside!

Yesterday was my radio debut. D. and I were on WUML‘s Sunrise Show to talk about the campaign. I’m told it went well but I don’t really remember anything except for feeling like I sounded like a blathering idiot. Gist listened to the show and she said we did a good job: she said we didn’t say “ummmmm” at all, did a nice job alternating speaking, sounded like experts, and were very clear. My memory says that D. did all of those things!

I left work early yesterday to go to the Hub Mills Store. I wanted to make something I could finish on the quick and give me a sense of accomplishment. Specifically I wanted to make a hat using recycled sari silk yarn. I thought Hub Mills carried it but they don’t, so I left with two skeins ao Noro Silk Garden #87. The color is gorgeous and hard to describe – a mix of blues, pinks, purples, and greens. Flickr user HeyLucy made a stunning Lady Eleanor with it and her photo really shows off the colors. I started the hat last night and I am a little worried that I won’t have enough yarn. I can’t decide if I should buy another skein today or keep working on the hat and buy one if I need it. Hub Mills is closed tomorrow and Monday so if I don’t have enough I’ll have to wait till at least Tuesday to get more…

Yesterday also marked the return of the “HELLO!” ice cream truck! Summer’s here!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

