Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Nice weekend!

Leave a comment

chance_of_rain1.gifLowell, MA
Partly cloudy and hot.

This weekend was a lovely one, filled with good friends, food, wine, knitting, and shopping. Gist came home from camp on Friday afternoon and we ate lunch together, ran some errands and did some cleaning. One of our errands was grocery shopping and we did the bulk of it at Hannaford (as usual) but we also went to Shaw Farm to get milk and while we were there we treated ourselves to an ice cream – yum!

Nance came down (actually up) on Saturday morning. We ate lunch at Life Alive – yum – Gist decided to go home for a much-needed nap, and Nance and I did some shopping. We went to the bookstore where Nance got some vacay books (fiction and crosswords) and I got a prize for Gist. We walked around downtown and then went to the Welles Emporium (which I just noticed is a shop-pay) where we both bought some jewelry. I got a lovely necklace and earring set and Nance got a lovely necklace.

After that we had to go to the Hub Mills Store! Nance had never been there and we picked the perfect day for her first time – all yarn, bags and sweaters were 15% off! I was good and stuck to my yarn diet but Nance got a ton of stuff for not a ton on money. She got enough yarn to make two novelty scarves, yarn for face cloths, some Dune (which she used in her ruana, was almost out of, lost the label, and didn’t know if she’d ever find more), and some needles. All together it was $38!

On Saturday night we drank some wine, made supper, went out to Gary’s for ice cream, chatted, and knitted – it was very fun.

On Sunday morning, Gist left for camp and Nance and I decided to go to he Boott Mills museum. Then we went to the Brewery for lunch and Nance headed home. I was a lot of fun and I feel like I hot my 48 hours worth!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

