Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Folk Festival

Leave a comment

chance_of_tstorm.jpgLowell, MA
Icky – it is a hazy yellow-gray and HOT!

Yesterday was a beautiful day: not too hot, sunny and the air was fresh. Today is the opposite: very hot, hazy and the air is murky, humid and gross! Yikes!

The Folk Festival was AWESOME! Gist and I went all three days which must be some kind of record. Friday night was kind of a bust because it started pouring as soon as we left the house so we weren’t able to see any music but I did get a great sunset picture (click on any picture to see the full size): Folk Fest SunsetStitch Markers & Yarn

Saturday was fun but HOT! Gist’s friend Chickpea (camp name) and her partner Scott came for the Festival. Before they came Gist and I “previewed” the Fest. We ate at the St. Patrick’s booth – an empanada colombiana and tostones for me, an empanada con pollo and a bacalaito for Gist – yum! We also went to Art in the Courtyard where I got some lovely hand-spun and hand-dyed Woolarina yarn (pink and orange, of course) and some lovely hand made purple and green Skeintily Clad stitch markers. I have already started making a scarf with the yarn!

We stayed at the Festival until about 10:30 – eating, walking around, people-watching, riding the trolley, and listenting to music. It was a lot of fun! Here are some pix:

Art in the Courtyard Life Alive Stage Tape Art

Sunday was much cooler and sunny. Gist and I really focused on listening to music on Sunday and we weren’t disappointed! First, it was Hot 8 Brass BandDan Paisley & the Southern Grass, Lee Street Stageback to Art in the Courtyard to see if there was any more yarn that I “needed.” Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) there wasn’t. We then went to Boarding House Park to see Hot 8 Brass Band. They were great! After that, we went to the Lee Street Stage to see Dan Paisley & the Southern Grass. They were also great! We also listened to some rockabilly (Los Pleneros de 21) and African Rumba (KΓ©kΓ©lΓ©).

I love the Folk Festival and this year’s was no exception. I had a great weekend spending time with people I like, listening to great music, eating amazing ethnic (Middle Eastern, Central/South American, Middle Eastern, African) and not-so-ethnic (grilled sausage, slush, ice cream, fried dough) food, browsing lovely arts and crafts, engaging in some serious people-watching, and falling in love with Lowell all over again.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

