Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Great Day!

Leave a comment

sunny.gifLowell, MA
Perfect! Sunny, warm but not hot, breezy, and fresh!

Today has been great so far! I have had a lovely ‘alone in Lowell’ day. I woke up at 9:00 (late!), puttered, cleaned, and listened to NPR in the morning and then at noon I headed over to the Tsongas Arena for the Lowell Quilt Festival. I went to see the Faces of the Acre Quilt created by the Support Group but I really enjoyed all of the quilts. While I was there I saw many of the ladies – they were all so proud and happy to be there. Here are some scenes:Quilts

After I left the Tsongas I rode my bike around downtown – fun – and had some lunch at the Mambo Grill – yum! I also found out they now serve enchiladas mole and sangria – double yum!

I then went to Barnes and Noble, where I got the new Yarn Harlot book, and to the Hub Mills Store (because I really need more yarn and knitting books) where I got One Skein and some lime green yarn. There is a great felted bag pattern in One Skein that I want to make in pink, orange and lime.

Since I was on Western Avenue, I decided to go to the Open Studios. The Lowell Fiber Studio sponsored a neat quilt show there and I ran into Deborah Dixon, a local artist, friend of Gist and Big Moves volunteer. I looked at a lot of art (and some empty studios on the third floor *sigh*). After that, I rode my bike home.

Now I am waiting for Gist to come home from camp. I hope this evening is as fun as today was…

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

