Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Socks!

2 Comments

I am knitting my first pair of socks. I am using the “Start Here: Simple Socks in Three Sizes” pattern from Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles. I have made the cuff shorter because I didn’t know if I would have enough yarn (the pattern calls for more than I have) and I wanted to get to the “hard” part quicker. I am in the process of turning the heel and it seems to be going fine – but to be honest, I don’t really know what “fine” is supposed to look like. What I am really worried about is picking up the gusset stitches – that doesn’t really make sense to me. Oh well, I’ll just keep on keepin’ on (as McGist would say.)

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Socks!

  1. Hi there- found your blog through the knitting blogs ring. I just wanted to congratulate you on your first pair of socks (!!) and to tell you that that felted bag is beautiful!

  2. I would suggest going to your LYS and have someone there show you how to pick-up the stitches correctly. It’s really easy once you see it, but it seemed scary and confusing to me too. If you don’t do it just right you will have little holes along the edge.

    I went to my LYS and the owner was more than happy to show me. I found this much more helpful than anything I read on it. It’s just hard to envision.

    Goood luck with your first socks!!

Leave a Reply

