Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Socktoberfest!

Leave a comment

Lolly posted a Socktoberfest questionnaire. I love a good questionnaire and I am participating in Socktoberfest so here goes:

  • When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?
  • I cast on for my first sock this August. I got Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles for my birthday this year but waited till August to take it for a spin. My first sock was a practice sock – I cast on on the two circulars, tried to get through the first pattern in the book screwed up turning the heel, frogged back, knit on, conquered the heel, * screwed up the gusset, frogged back, knit on *, repeated from * to * twice, frogged the whole sock. Then I cast on with DPNs, did a short leg (the faster to get to the problem areas, my pretty), breezed through the heel and finally figured out the gusset. Yay! I then frogged this sock and cast-on my first going-to-be-made-into-a-pair sock, the Broadripple. So yeah, I taught myself.

  • What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time?
  • I’m almost done with them and I hope they hold up for a long time.

  • What would you have done differently?
  • I don’t know!

  • What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
  • So far I’ve used Sockotta (for the practice socks) and Fixation (for the Broadripples.) I’ve enjoyed them both. I have some Seacoast Hand-painted that I am dying to use, once I finish the Broadripples.

  • Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
  • Two circulars.

  • Which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?)
  • I’ve made one pair of socks. They use a heel flap. Maybe pair #2 will be short-row…

  • How many pairs have you made?
  • I am still working on my first. I signed up for Scoktoberfest to motivate me to make at least two pairs!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

