Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

The way life should be.

Leave a comment

This weekend was Gist’s and my annual trip to Bar Harbor and it was delightful.Maine 2006 Montage
We had such a wonderful time and the weather could not have been more perfect. We left Lowell on Saturday morning after having a delicious breakfast at the Dream Diner. It was the perfect way to start the day. We decided to drive up the scenic way which meant taking Route 1 most of the way. It was so beautiful. We drove through a lot of charming towns and along the sea and the light was that lovely October in New England light – it was gorgeous!

We made it it Bar Harbor at 3ish, checked in to our lovely room and decided to walk around town. It was lovely but crowded! I don’t know if it was the great forecast, holiday weekend or what, but I was surprised to see so many people. After a little bit of walking around we decided to head back to our room and balcony to look at the sea, knit (me) and puzzle (Gist.) Finally it was time for dinner in the Reading Room Restaurant.

Yum! is all I can say about that. The restaurant was lovely and fancy and the food was delicious! Gist had tuna and I had beef and both were excellent. We headed off to bed with full and happy bellies!

On Sunday the strangest sound woke me. I had no idea what it was and it was just getting light so I looked out the window. A cruise ship was dropping anchor right outside of the hotel. I decided to stay up and watch the sun rise – it was lovely.

Gist woke up, ate a yummy breakfast and decided to go to Acadia. Our first stop was Jordan Pond – we needed to make a reservation for later in the day. We arrived in the nick of time (at 10:00 am) and managed to get one of the last reservations. Then we headed up Cadillac Mt. to take some pictures and admire the view and then it was off to buy our park pass.

The Visitor Center was crowded and the line was huge so we skipped the pass and decided to finish our driving tour from last year. That brought us to Northeast Harbor (lovely) and along the only fjord (I love fjords) in North America. After that we decided to check out Southwest Harbor.

I am glad we did and I am grateful for Gist’e eagle eyes – she was able to spot – a yarn store! Of course we stopped. The Lilac Lily is a charming little shop with a great selection and I am glad we found it – it was the cherry on the top of a lovely getaway. I got three skeins of sock yarn that I am dying to work up!

Once the yarn itch was scratched we headed back to Acadia for our Jordan Pond popovers. Yum! Gist had a lobster roll and I had soup and we each had some popovers. We sat outside with a great view of The Bubbles. It was lovely

Then it was back to the hotel for some more maxin’ and relaxin’. I had a local beer and finished the Broadripple Socks. Then, of course, we had to have a full photo shoot. Finally we headed to Lompoc Cafe for a delicious dinner.

After dinner we walked around town and I took my new tripod for a spin. I had a great time taking night pix and I am really happy with some of the results – especially this photo of the Margaret Todd.

On Monday we had the harbor cruise and lobster bake to make the fact that we were leaving a little easier to swallow! After yet another delicious breakfast we set out to find the cruise. Now, we thought that we would be going on a rinky-dink cruise as a part of our package so we headed over to that dock. While we were there we discovered that no one had our reservation and after we called we discovered that a trip on the Margaret Todd was included in our package. We were psyched! We had been admiring the boat all weekend and we were thrilled to be going out on it. Our tour also had a park ranger on it which was very neat. But neatest of all? We saw a bald eagle. I have never seen one outside of a zoo. The whole cruise was just beautiful.

It didn’t however whet our appetites for the Downeast lobster bake – I don’t think anything could have after all of the great food we ate all weekend. Anyway, we sat outside, enjoyed the view of the harbor and great weather, and tried to be lobster-eating troopers. We weren’t too successful but it was still fun. Then, alas, we had to head home but we had our memories and The Dante Club to keep us company.

It was a great trip. The hotel was great, the package was great (although there might have been too much food), it was great to be able to relax and spend time with Gist, and it was a nice break from our overall busy-ness. I am so happy it is an annual tradition and I am already counting the days till next year.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

