Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Catch up!

Leave a comment

Okay, as usual things have been very busy. What have I been up to, let’s see…

  • The Franklin County Fiber Twist: It was a lot of fun if very rainy! Nance, Jeremy, Gist, and I met for breakfast at the Black Sheep (yum) on Saturday before splitting up: Jeremy went home to rest, Gist puttered around and Nance and I went to the Twist. We actually only went to the marketplace because it was raining too hard to go to the farms but it was still fun. I got some beautiful hand-dyed (by the Kangaroo Dyer) sock yarn. After that, we headed to Webs (where I got some Schaefer Anne) and then to meet up with Gist. We then had some appetizers and drinks at the Tunnel Bar (which serves Chartreuse – yay!) and met Jeremy and Jeff for dinner at Paul & Elizabeth’s (double yum!) It was delightful. On Sunday we had breakfast at the Stables and then headed home for…
  • Gist’s parents and the Tamburitzans: The Tamburitzans were fun and afterwards we went to Friends for dinner. It was a good time.
  • Now I’ll do a Socktoberfest update: Well I finished 1.4 pairs of socks. Not as many as I had hoped but I have 1.4 more pairs of handmade socks than I did when I started! I enjoyed Socktoberfest and the motivation it gave me to knit socks. I also learned that I really like making socks. I can’t wait till next year…
  • Project 365: I am really enjoying this project. It is a bit of a challenge: remembering to take the camera everywhere, thinking of what would make an interesting picture (sometimes I’m not so good at this), taking enough pictures in order to choose one, thinking about whether or the picture I’ve chosen accurately represents the day (something I’m not so good at), and the list goes on… I’m not complaining, all of these challenges have caused me to think more about photography, about my days and have motivated me to get out and take more pictures. Hallowe’en is a good example, I went out at night to take some pictures and I really had fun and got some good shots.
Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

