Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Best Dinner Evah

1 Comment

Man, I just finished the best dinner ever. What was it? Spinach Salad (that I grew up with but have never seen anywhere and no one I know had heard of it until I saw Allie on Everyday Food make it – I honestly thought it was some weird G**** family secret recipe – it’s not) and mashed potatoes. Such a weird combo but oh, so delicious.

This magical Spinach Salad (that must be capitalized) is something that both my parents and grandparents made. I have to confess I hated it when I was a child; mostly because of the hard boiled eggs which I used to think were gross (until I was 18 I wouldn’t eat egg yolks) but now I love, anyway… It contains: spinach, bacon, hard boiled eggs, and a hot bacon-fat vinaigrette. Yum!

Here’s what I did: hard boil some eggs; spin some baby spinach; cook, in a saucepan, some cut-up bacon until it was crispy; mince a shallot, take the bacon out of the pan; soften the shallot in the bacon fat; add 1/2 cup of vinegar to the hot pan (I used half red wine vinegar and half balsamic); boil the dressing and reduce it to half of my original amount; toss the spinach, sliced eggs and bacon bacon with the hot dressing; watch the spinach wilt; serve on a plate with some home made mashed potatoes. I must confess, it was good. I must also confess, the entire point of this post is so that I will remember how good it was.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Best Dinner Evah

  1. That actually sounds really good. I made a potato salad once with the same ingredients (minus the spinach and plus potato, obviously) It’s the bacon fat dressing that really makes it – can’t be good for ya, but its so yummy!

Leave a Reply

