Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

What a diference a year makes…

Leave a comment

I was just reading this post from last year at this time and I am amazed at how different I feel this year. Last year I was fried. I just remember being totally stressed, unhappy, exhausted, unable to relax, and jumpy and jangly. I was in such a bad place. I remember anticipating my week off not with joy but as something that I couldn’t live without. I don’t even remember having fun that week: I think I just sat on the couch in a catatonic state (slight exaggeration) and slept. It was about all my stressed out body and mind could take.

This year is different. I am in a much better place mentally. I enjoy my job and I am doing work that suits my interests and abilities. I am not good at, and I never enjoyed all of the number crunching and data analysis I did at my last job. I am much happier doing research, writing, and working on more social, communications-type things. I need to be able to be creative in order to be happy. I have that now and I am glad that I learned that about myself. I’ve also learned that I hate commuting. Not only for the time it takes but also because working where I live is important to me. I like the feeling of working in my community. I like the fact that the majority of the people I work with are my neighbors. I like that we all share the goal of improving our neighborhood and city and that even if we don’t agree on everything at least we share a common goal and a love for the place we’ve chosen to live.

I like that Gist no longer has a commute and loves her job.  The fact that we both love our jobs and don’t have to spend 3.5 hours getting to them has made a huge difference in our relationship.  We’re calmer, less likely to snap and, most importantly, not exhausted all the time.

I am thankful for the changes that have brought me here today.  I am thankful that I am not completely fried and jumpy all of the time.  I am thankful that my life is in balance.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

