Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

A Splash of Blue

Leave a comment

Day 125 - Wednesday, February 21st 2007
Today Gist & I went to the Concord Museum to see this exhibit. We happened upon it purely by chance – as I was watching NECN this morning they has a PSA for the exhibit and I immediately thought of Project Spectrum and told Gist we had to go.

The exhibit was very interesting. It showcased selections of the museum’s collection in all shades of blue. It talked a little bit about the symbolism of blue throughout time, different blue dyes (such as indigo) and how they were discovered, and the meaning/history of “blue” words and phrases such as blue stocking, blue plate special and blue moon. I especially enjoyed that the show contained all sorts of blue things, from a Pucci dress to quilts, along with pottery, hats, shoes, paintings, and even an excerpt from a movie. The highlight was an embroidered indigo bedspread – the depth of the blue was stunning. It was a great Project Spectrum field trip!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

