Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Cats

Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking about Regg & Sebb a lot lately. Last Saturday (St. Patrick’s Day) was Regg’s birthday. I picked St. Pat’s Day because Jeremy got him in May 1994 and I thought it would be a nice day for a birthday. I also went to Salem on Thursday and I made a trip down to Willows Park to see where Sebb came from. It was such an unplanned and funny thing to happen – Julienne, Matt, Nicole, Richard and I were just spending a late October day in Salem when a little girl came up to us and asked if we wanted a kitten and just like that Sebb was mine.

It is amazing how many changes Regg & Sebb have seen me through: my first serious relationship and its dissolution, eight apartments, two states, school, numerous part-time jobs, my second (and last, I hope) serious relationship, the beginning of my career, two cross-country drives, lots of vacations… 13 years is a long time!

It is sometimes weird to think that Regg isn’t with me anymore. There are lots of times when I am sitting on the couch and I want to just get up and pet him and then I realize that he isn’t curled up on the bed. Usually when that happens Sebb will come over and jump up on my lap and start purring. It helps with the missing Regg and also reminds me of how much I love Sebb.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

