Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Doors Open Lowell

Leave a comment

This weekend is Doors Open Lowell. For nosy people like me (and probably even the not-so-nosy) it is a really fun event: you get to tour different historic houses and buildings throughout the city. I love old buildings and I especially love seeing what people have done with them.

This year, CBA‘s office and the St. Joseph’s School are two of the featured buildings. CBA’s office is located in a former convent that was redeveloped into office and community space. St. Joe’s has been vacant for many years and CBA is going to begin redeveloping the building into 15 affordable units for seniors and families. The redevelopment should start this August and it will be done using green building techniques.

CBA is on the tour from 3:00 pm – 6:00 pm today and I’ll be there the entire time – stop by and say “hello” if you’re in the area! There are going to be tours of both buildings and the architect for St. Joe’s will also be available to answer questions about the project. Touring the St. Joe’s site will be especially interesting: there are still old books, desks, etc. in the rooms – it looks like it was abandoned on the fly.

St. Joe's School

My next photo project is going to feature St. Joe’s. I want to photograph every phase of the rehab: from how it looks now, through construction, until it is occupied. I want to photograph both the building and the people involved with it: CBA staff, architects, contractors, landscapers, and eventually the new tenants. I think it will be a really neat project and I am looking forward to working on it.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

