Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Yummmmmmm

3 Comments

mld103228_0907_stormy_l.jpg

This is my new favorite fall cocktail – The Perfect Storm. It is featured in the current issue of Blueprint Magazine (love it, and their blog, Bluelines!) It is a riff on a Dark ‘n Stormy and it is delicious! Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 vanilla bean
  • .5 cup superfine sugar
  • 1 oz. ginger beer (they use Reed’s, I prefer Goya)
  • 1.5 oz. apple cider
  • 2 oz. dark rum (Goslings, baby!)

Split a vanilla bean lengthwise, scrape out the inside and add it to the sugar, setting aside the pod. Stir until the sugar is speckled with bits of vanilla. Dip the rim of a glass in water, then in the sugar to coat. Mix ginger brew, apple cider, and rum in a measuring cup. Pour over ice into glass and garnish with half the vanilla bean. Enjoy!

I also made a non-alcoholic version for Gist – I omitted the rum and used 2 oz. of ginger beer and 3oz. of cider – it was also delicious!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Yummmmmmm

  1. mmmm, sounds delicious. i’ll try it when it gets out of the eighties here. shoot it’s hot!

  2. I may have to try this for my book club in October. Sounds wonderful!
    I feel bad that I didn’t contact you before, but I am sitting in a hotel in Warrick(sp?) RI. We ran out to Newport yesterday and it was a perfect day! Gorgeous! Everytime we visit there it is. I always think it is nice to try and meet up with people from blogs if possible and this trip came up so fast, I didn’t think fast enough. Today we are hanging out in Kingston with a friend and then the train to Boston in the morning to walk about. I hope to spot a couple of yarn stores along the way. Next time I will plan better!

Leave a Reply

