Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Day Seven – WIP Wednesday

Leave a comment

All the WIPs
All of the current WIPs

Well, it is the first WIP Wednesday of the month and what better way to start than to say a few words about each of my current WIPs. I am honestly hoping that some will become FOs during November – we’ll see, won’t we…

Wristers
Fist up we have Gist’s Wristers. This pattern is in Last-Minute Knitted Gifts, a lovely book, and they are located in the two-to-four-hour gift chapter. I started them in July. Yup, July, a whole lot more than four hours ago! Needless to say Gist is starting to believe that her wrists will forever be cold. The yarn is Malabrigo (yumm), the color is Hollyhock and the needles are two generic size seven circulars. This is my top priority project to finish and if they are still here next Wednesday I’ll be pretty embarrassed!

Capelet
Next up we have a capelet – you could tell just from the picture, right? The pattern is the Ribbed Decrease Capelet designed by Amber Daniels, a local Lowell knitter and designer. The yarn is Araucania Nature Wool Chunky, the color is a denim-y blue-gray and the needle is a size 10.5 Susan Bates circular. I cast on during the World Series (on October 27th to be exact) I have knit about nine inches on it. It has actually been moving along pretty quickly and I hope to finish it by the end of the month.


Here we have another project from LMKG, the Pashmina Cowl. This project is in the six-to-eight-hour gifts so if I keep my wristers pace I should finish sometime in April. The yarn is Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool and the needle is a size six Addi Turbo. Both were purchased in Maine over Columbus Day weekend at the Lilac Lily. Jokes about pace aside, I am actually about 40% done at this point.

Bobby Blue
Finally we have what I am calling the Big Ole Scarf/Wrap. I don’t really know that I will be able to finish this project in my lifetime (although I really want to because I think it’ll make a great FO). That picture up there? It was taken on August 3rd which is probably the day I cast on. Today, three months later I have knit 18 inches. The final project will be over six feet long. The yarn is the delightful, spun by angels, Malabrigo laceweight in Bobby Blue. The needle is a size nine Addi Turbo. The pattern? Miles and miles of stockinette.

So there you have it, my WIPs. I hope to finish some this month but I may need blinders in order to do it – I’m dying to cast on for some socks!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

