Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Oh noes!

3 Comments

Thanks for all the nice comments on my last post! The BSJ is still coming along quite nicely and I think I’m figuring out how it works. I’m almost to the button holes – I’ve never made a button hole before so they should be interesting.

In other news, Sebb had his hell day at the vet today.
Day 84 - Monday, March 24th 2008 - *Warning* Whining Alert!
Poor guy had no idea what was coming to him.

We found out early last week that Sebb has diabetes. That means twice-daily insulin shots for the rest of his life. Today he got to go to the vet for the day to regulate his sugar. When we picked him up this evening we learned that he is a bit of a grumpy old man while at the vet, fond of hissing an spitting. This is very out of character for how is is at home – whenever someone comes to visit us he believes they are there to see, pet and fawn over him.

Gist and I both learned how to do the shots with water and it’s pretty easy. Sebb hated when the vet tech did it to show us how to do it, was fine when I did it and hissed a little at Gist. I administered the first real shot at home this evening and it wasn’t a problem at all – Sebb was relaxing on my lap, purring and he didn’t even seem to notice it. After the shot, he got his first taste of his new, low-carb, wet food diet (wet food has, until now, been a very special treat). He loves the new food. He also seems to be feeling better – it’s such a relief.

Are there any other diabetic cat owners out there? Do you have any tips, hints or suggestions?

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Oh noes!

  1. Our cat isn’t diabetic, but I can reassure you that it’s definitely pretty common for them to be very out of character at the vet – ours is the same @ home, she’ll snuggle up with anyone who will give her attention, but even put her in the car and she’s freakin’ out…

  2. Poor Seb. What a stressful day. Glad that he’s home and doing fine!

  3. Speaking purely on the training side of things … I would suggest this routine to take advantage of classical conditioning.

    Develop a regular routine for giving the shots. Same chair, same time of day, have needle out, etc. BUT — 4 out of 5 times, have the routine lead up to a lovely reward (bit of treat, favorite head scratch, etc.) instead of a shot. The gambler in your cat will be forced to count on the gamble instead of learning to flee the shot.

    This works for nail trims too — Gromit thinks the nail clippers mean 80% chance of cheese, and that’s good enough for him. He flies into my lap for nail trims, the big goof.

Leave a Reply

