Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Friday – YAY!

1 Comment

Day 95 - Friday, April 4th 2008 - Hot Diggity Dogs!
Tonight Yovani and I had a lovely, there’s a lot to like about Lowell evening. It started at the 1st ever Lowell Film Festival.

We saw Bling: A Planet Rock, an excellent movie about hip-hop and diamonds. I am fascinated with diamonds and the diamond industry, and this movie offered an unique and interesting perspective on diamonds, where they come from, what they mean in hip-hop culture, and the devastation they have created in Africa. It definitely gave me a lot to think about but I was left wanting to know how the trip affected the artists (Raekwon, Tego Calderon and Paul Wall) and their lives back in the States. Do they still wear, buy, make jewelry with diamonds? Are they still connected to Sierra Leone? Has their trip and what they saw there had a larger impact on hip-hop culture? This will be a research project for another day…

After the movie, we headed to Lowell’s newest restaurant, Bad Dawgs, where we got the beauties you see pictured above. Then we did a walk-by of some of Lowell’s newest restaurants and headed to Sangria’s for some conversation, beers and chips and salsa.

Tomorrow brings more movies – I am definitely seeing two but, if I am really ambitious, it may be more.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Friday – YAY!

Leave a Reply

