Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

What I did on my summer vacation! Part 4 – Bar Harbor, ME

Leave a comment

Bar Harbor! My favorite place in the world!
From the Balcony

I seriously love, love, love it here! Gist and I go up to Bar Harbor every October and we both love it so much. It is just so beautiful on MDI. Usually we’re looking at the cruise ships pulling into the harbor but this year we got a different perspective.
From the Balcony
That white building in the center is where we always stay.

This was also our first stop on the voyage where we had to tender.
Tender

When we got on the island, I was happy to just breathe in the lovely Maine air. It smells like no place else on earth – fresh, piney and salty all at the same time. We also took a quick trip to Jordan Pond and then ate our very favorite beet salad at Rupununi, and we also walked around downtown and along the lovely Shore Path. I also visited my second yarn store of the trip and didn’t buy anything – I deserve a special yarn diet medal!

The lovely Shore Path:

Day 175 - Thursday, July 17th 2008

Shore Path

And the Margaret Todd:
Margaret Todd

We returned to the boat on one of the last tenders and sat on our balcony to say farewell to Bar Harbor until next year *sigh* Then we went to dinner at one of the ship’s speciality restaurants, Bamboo. We were on a “freestyle cruise” which means that we didn’t have assigned dining times or companions, instead of one big main dining room there were a lot of different restaurants to choose from, and there weren’t formal or other theme nights. Our ship had 11 different restaurants and a variety of lounges/bars. Many of the restaurants were included in your package but some of the specialty ones had a nominal fee. Bamboo had a $15 cover and it was well worth it – I think both Gist and I would say it was our favorite of all the restaurants. Gist especially loved the sushi and I really enjoyed my meal too!
Delicious Sushi

Massive Amounts of Sushi

The final days of our cruise were spent on the boat. My final installment will talk about what we did on the boat while we were in Provincetown and Newport and then back to NYC.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

