Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Lowell Folk Festival

2 Comments

Last weekend was my favorite weekend here in Lowell – Folk Festival Weekend! The fun started on Friday evening with a BBQ with Katy and Yovani. We chatted, drank some delicious wine and ate a very tasty dinner. Then, as good friends are wont to do, we tricked Katy into going to the Folk Festival. See, we promised her ice cream at Gary’s but ended up at Art in the Courtyard. We said hello to Amanda, Candace and Liz and checked out their wares. I also kidded myself that I wouldn’t buy anything because I’m trying to be better about my spending but you’ll see how that turned out – I am truly helpless in the presence of crafts *ahem*

After checking out everyone’s wares, we headed down Merrimack Street to check out Humanity, a new boutique here in Lowell. It was super-cute inside. I especially loved the origami tree.
Paper Flowers

Day 183 - Friday, July 25th 2008

Humanity sells a lot of cute clothes and accessories at a really reasonable price. My only criticism (and the thing that hinders my ability to shop there): they don’t carry any larger sizes. If they did, I’d definitely be buying!

On Saturday, Nance came up. It was the first time she’s seen our new place which was exciting. The reason for her visit was Gist’s birthday present – she and Gist got mani/pedis. While they were doing that, I made lunch and then we just hung out and chatted until it was time to head over to the Festival. We walked around, ate and listened to some music.
Lowell Folk Fest

Saturday Night Crowd

Day 184 - Saturday, July 26th 2008

On Sunday, Kristin, AJ and Morgan came up to go to the Festival with us. First we’ll talk about Morgan and how much she’s grown. Morgan last year:
Day 283 - Sunday, July 29th 2007

And this year:
In the Revolving Museum

What a difference a year makes! While we were at the Festival, we ate – which is the real reason to go – listened to some music, walked around, bought some crafts, and Gist and AJ had a box hockey re-match.
Hey!

Juice!

Lowell Folk Festival

Kid's Area at the Lowell Folk Festival

Day 185 - Sunday, July 27th 2008

Reading the Rules

Box Hockey

The Box Hockey Re-Match

I think the contentious match ended in a tie. I held out in my craft-buying until Sunday, but this had to come home with me.
New Pendant

We finally had to leave when the daily monsoon came through – it was a doozy and I’m glad I made it home before it started! When we got home, we had to have some Rock Band action – we did a good job. Our line-up? Vocals – AJ & me, Guitar – Gist and me, Drums – Gist and Nance.

After Kristin and the kids left, Nance, Gist and I had a YUMMY dinner at Blue Taleh.  Nance and I started with cocktails – she had a Reverse Cosmo which is a cosmo with white cranberry juice and mine, which I forget the name of, had Hendrick’s, peach schnapps, Sprite, and julienned cucumbers.  It was delightful!  Gist and Nance ate sushi and I had lots of appetizers and miso soup – YUM!  It was a tasty ending to a very fun weekend!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Lowell Folk Festival

  1. That looks like such a great weekend. I wish they had stuff like that around here!

  2. Ah, too bad we didn’t get to meet up there – I went on Saturday too! 🙂

    And Blue Telah is my fave place – yum!

Leave a Reply

