Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Olé, yay!

1 Comment

First a picture that has nothing to do with the post…
Day 204 - Friday, August 15th 2008

Next, two observations:
1. I really hate posting without pictures. So in a post about a new local restaurant, you get a shot of farmers market veggies. I guess they’re both food related.
2. I sure love the word YAY, don’t I?

Now, on to the reason for this post. Gist and I went to Olé, the brand-new tapas restaurant in downtown Lowell for dinner last night and it was delicious! I am so happy it’s open, it is a great addition to the downtown dining scene. The atmosphere is great, very Spanish, with lots of red and burning candles. The sangria was tasty, if a little too fruity. Oh, it also packs a punch. The tapas were delicious. We ordered six and left completely satisfied. We had Chorizo a la Plancha (grilled Spanish sausage), Papas a la Olé (potatoes with a delicious aioli), Gambas al Ajillo (garlic shrimp – YUM), Tortilla Española, Ceviche Flamenco (shrimp ceviche), and Paella. Everything was tasty but my faves were the Gambas and the Chorizo. Gist especially liked the Ceviche and Paella. I was also impressed with the service, especially because we went on the second night they were open.

I say “Yay for Olé!” I’ll definitely be back and if you’re in Lowell, you should check it out.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Olé, yay!

  1. How funny – the SO & I almost went there last night! We actually tried to go last week – I called and found out they weren’t open! We both love tapas, so I’m glad to see your review. We’ll probably go tonight before seeing Much Ado About Nothing

Leave a Reply

