Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

I love October!

2 Comments

I sure do, how could I not?  October means pretty foliage, crisp weather, pumpkins…
CSA Pumpkins

I have to say, October is right up there with July as one of my favorite months. And, now that I’m thinking about it, I’ve realized that some of my favorite months are the ones that follow the equinox/solstice – they just seem to be the very essence of their season.  Anyway, this October in particular has, although it’s still very young, been a lovely one.

The farm has been gorgeous and I am very happy with the produce that we’re getting in our weekly CSA box.  I love, love, love winter squash and root veggies and I’m really happy that they are making theri way into my kitchen.  Tonight I am making a Roasted Squash Soup that I’m really looking forward to, it combines butternut, acorn and delicata squash with apples, onions, garlic, curry, and ginger, an I think it’ll be a tasty fall treat!  The Farmers’ Market has also been great, on Friday I got some gorgeous shallots.
Day 253 - Friday, October 3rd 2008
Farmer’s Market bounty

Pick-Your-Own Flower Garden at the CSA
The last of the pick-your-own flowers at the farm – I just love that purple!

We also have a new addition to our household this October…
Day 252 - Thursday, October 2nd 2008

Yes, we’re now a two car household.  It’s both exciting and strange, having a second car.  It helps that the new car is fun to drive – hello, manual transmission – but I still feel like a bit of a traitor to my public-transit loving self.  It’s funny, I’ve been a bus/bike/walk person for so long that it’s weird to think of myself as a car person.  Just last week, I was talking to someone after a meeting and she asked where my bike was.  I told her I was driving that day and she said that she’d never seen me in a car (and she sees me at least once a month), I’m always either biking or walking.

I do have to admit that having access to a car whenever I want/need it is really nice – driving to work takes about half the time that riding the bus or walking does, and it allows me the freedom of running errands after work, or attending a late meeting (or an early one, for that matter), or having dinner with friends (the bus in Lowell stops at 7:00 pm).

I just hope I don’t turn into one of those people who drives across the street ; )

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “I love October!

  1. What a lovely purple! Solara’s are nice! My father-in-law had one for awhile. At least gas prices are slowly going down.

  2. Congrats on the new car! I always loved driving a manual.

Leave a Reply

