Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

i guess i was punk once

I can’t believe that last week at this time…


…I was getting ready to go to the first day of RHINEBECK!  This week, though short, has been awfully long.

My motto this year – go big or go home.  See, I went to Rhinebeck after having been on a yarn diet since SPA in February.  I have a big stash and I’m a slow knitter so I need to knit before I buy.  I know that yarn diets are supposed to be these terrible things, but mine wasn’t too bad – I honestly wasn’t tempted much during the last eight months and only broke the diet twice – once to buy some alpaca in March and once, just a few weeks ago, to buy some Malabrigo lace.  I didn’t feel “bad” about either of these purchases or about breaking my diet – I am not the type of person who places value judgements on things like shopping – I pay my bills, I save, I’m not particularly spendthrift so if I have the money and I want something, well, I buy it.

That was where I was at when I headed out to NY for the weekend – I had a nice amount of money to spend (my savings at work!) but nothing I really needed to buy.  So I decided that I was just going to buy something really fancy – something I probably wouldn’t buy on a regular trip to my LYS.  Maybe some cashmere, maybe some silk, maybe some qiviuk…  Guess what won?
Day 268 - Saturday, October 18th 2008 - My motto this year? Go big or go home.

Yes, the qiviuk!  I love it and can’t wait to start knitting with it!  I’ve been knitting like a fiend on my current WIP because I want to finish. it. up. and move on to the fancy.  I have 654 yards and I think it’ll become a longer Alhambra.

The festival was, as always, a lovely time filled with good friends, gorgeous yarn,

cute animals,
Day 269 - Sunday, October 19th 2008

I love the sheep dog contests!

'Paca Parade

lots of good food and beer – but, alas, I did not get a picture of the best food of all – maple cotton candy,
Just a little something light to start our day...
Our outrageous breakfast at the Eveready Diner.

Katy's FO!
Beer + Baby Knits = How we roll.

a fun Ravelry party (with even more beer!),
By the fire at the party.

And we have a winner!
We have a winner!

and that blissed out feeling that only a good sheep and wool festival can provide.
This is your friends on yarn...

The first purchase of the weekend...

The only dark spot on the entire weekend – no fried pickles or fried garlic.  Oh, well there’s always next year – plans are already in the works – yipiee!

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my bike commutes, the food I cook and eat, the beer I drink, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “I can’t believe that last week at this time…

  1. So pretty! Some year I want to go but, until then, I really love reading your posts! I feel like I was there.

  2. I REMEMBER that maple cotton candy from when I went to Rhinebeck a couple years ago! Nice to know they still have it…dangerous stuff, though…

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,070 other followers