Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

More about the election…

1 Comment

…And then I promise I’ll stop.  This blog is not particularly political (notwithstanding the past few posts) because this is supposed to be a knitting blog and, as a general rule, I try not to mix knitting and politics.

This election has been so amazing and inspiring and, in a lot of ways, I am so proud to be an American.  Throughout the race, it made me incredibly happy and proud that we as a nation have come to a point where both a woman and an African-American were running for President AND not only were they running, they were seen as viable candidates!  WOW!

Then it became a race where one of our major parties had an African-American on the ticket and the other had a woman on the ticket.  Double WOW!  I know it has been said a million times but I think it bears repeating – not too long ago both women and African-Americans were not only not allowed to vote, they were considered property.  To quote a cliche that was used in a cigarette ad (oh, the irony) “We’ve come a long way, baby!”

BUT, (and here’s the big and heartbreaking but) apparently in 2008 we as a society still believe that gays do not deserve the same rights as everyone else.  Prop 8 in California is especially galling – in California they voted to take away equal marriage rights for same-sex couples and write discrimination into their constitution.  In 2008, when we can move past our racism and sexism, we just can’t seem to move past our homophobia.  It’s a shame.

BUT, (and here’s another but, this one hopeful) this will change.  I live in Massachusetts, a commonwealth that has affirmed equal rights for all of its citizens.  I live in a place where two adults who love each other can get married and share all of the rights and responsibilities that contract has to offer.  I live in a place that values marriage so highly that we not only offer it to all of our citizens, we have the lowest divorce rate in the nation.

And I am from Connecticut, a state where, beginning November 12th 2008, two consenting adults, regardless of gender can marry.  This right was affirmed on Tuesday when 60% of Nutmeggers rejected a constitutional convention to amend the CT constitution.

This tide is turning.  I know it is.  This quote from Martin Luther King Jr. has been repeated so many times during this historic election

When our days become dreary with low hovering clouds of despair, and when our nights become darker than a thousand midnights, let us remember that there is a creative force in this universe, working to pull down the gigantic mountains of evil, a power that is able to make a way out of no way and transform dark yesterdays into bright tomorrows. Let us realize the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends toward justice.

And it does.  It takes time, but if this election has taught us anything it is that things can change and justice will come.

The world only spins forward. We will be citizens. The time has come. Bye now. You are fabulous creatures, each and every one.

Tony Kushner was right, I am a citizen, if only in Massachusetts and Connecticut.  I believe that I will be a citizen of the United States in my lifetime.  The world only spins forward.  Homophobes and bigots are on the wrong side of history.  The arc continues to bend toward justice.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “More about the election…

  1. A lot of my feelings echo yours in this post, Marianne. I woke up yesterday elated about Obama, but deeply saddened by events in states like Florida, Arizona, Arkansas, and especially California. I can only hope that my belief in rights for all, and my contributions to organizations like HRC, will eventually make a difference. I’m hopeful, too, but very disappointed as well. I think things will change, though. They’re on their way.

Leave a Reply

