Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 Comments

Day 308 - Thursday, November 27th 2008

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and was able to spend it with people they love.  I was lucky enough to spend it with my “family-of-choice” – they “adopted” me when I was 17 (16 years ago – wow!) and I feel so blessed to have them in my life.  2008 has not been the best year, but all of the hard times have been made easier by all of the wonderful people in my life, and for that (and for them) I am incredibly grateful.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday – I love that the whole point of it is to come together with the people you love, share a meal and think of all of the things there are to be thankful for – I love it.  It is also, for me, the start of the holiday season, a time that I love.  Now I’m not religious, but the idea of lighting up the dark days of winter is one that speaks to me – this time of the year is all about bringing life, warmth and light into my life and home and looking forward to the fact that the days will soon be getting longer.  So this weekend will be all about spending time with friends, decorating the tree and listening to Christmas carols – yay!  I hope your weekends are as wonderful as I am anticipating mine will be.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. A day late happy Thanksgiving to you! Your weekend sounds like a wonderful , what a nice way to spend these dreary days 🙂

Leave a Reply

