Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Six more weeks?

2 Comments

Ah, winter.  It’s one of my favorite seasons but there are certainly things about it that I don’t like and this weekend was a mixture of both.

On the love side was Lowell Winterfest – one of my favorite annual events.  I love just about everything about it.  From the North Bowl soup competition:
North Bowl Ballot
The Buffalo Chicken Soup was the undisputed winner in my group.

To the human dog sled races:
Human Dog Sled Race

Human Dog Sled Race
So awesome!

To the weird Marshmallow Man selling marshmallows to toast over the many bonfires:
Amanda is understandably terrified of the Marshmallow Man
But I do love a roasted marshmallow…

Winterfest is a celebration of all things winter and, as a confirmed winter-phile, I love it!

I don’t, however, love the seasonal colds that always seem to come with winter and I’ve been struck with my second cold of 2009 – boo!  It’s not a super-bad cold, just enough to put a damper on things.  That has made the rest of this weekend pretty mellow – lots of teevee (I’m all caught upon Damages and Masterpiece), some knitting and I finished a book that I really enjoyed – Rapture Ready: Adventures in the Parallel Universe of Christian Popular Culture by Daniel Radosh.

If you are at all interested in pop culture, I would recommend this book.  Radosh, a secular Jew,  spends a year exploring different facets of Christian popular culture and, along the way, has a lot of his preconceived notions about both Christians and their pop culture smashed.  It’s a nuanced look at a subject that I’ll admit I don’t know much about but that I also had some pretty negative preconceived notions about (that’s changed).  It’s a well written, funny, thoughtful, compassionate, fair, and interesting look at evangelicals and how they create and consume pop culture.

Now that I’ve finished Rapture Ready, I’m without a next book in the queue – boo!  So I’m sending out a call for help – what should I read next?

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Six more weeks?

  1. Hmmm. Anything by Tom Robbins, but particularly “Still Life with Woodpecker” and “Jitterbug Perfume,” tends to be my go-to fiction.

    For creative non-fiction, I love “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius” by Dave Eggers. Funny, touching, and just plain fantastic.

  2. I don’t know if you’ve read “The Secret Life of Bees”, if you haven’t I highly recommend it. It was recently made into a movie, which is now available on dvd, too. I’m reading “The Namesake” right now and enjoying it. The author’s other book is “Interperter of Maladies” (I really liked it). If you enjoy sci-fi type and witty stuff The Dresden series by Jim Butcher is really good. Anything by Neil Gaiman is good.

Leave a Reply

