Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

More food!

2 Comments

Spinach Quiche

I made my first trip to the grocery store for the week yesterday.  I am the type of person who likes to grocery shop every few days (although when I was working, I did a big once a week trip.) I like smaller, more frequent trips because they give me more freedom and if I am really, really craving something on a certain day I am not bound by the menu that I put together on shopping day.  I usually end up shopping three or four times a week.  So what did I get and what did it make?  I bought…

  • A cantaloupe, on sale for $.99 (whatta bar-gin!)
  • A bunch of scallions, $.45
  • A block of Cabot extra sharp cheddar cheese, $2
  • A wedge of Parmesan, on sale for $3.49
  • An 8 oz. block of Market Basket cream cheese, $.99
  • A 10oz. box of Market Basket frozen, chopped spinach, $.79

My total for the trip?  $8.71.  Not too bad, well within budget.  What did we eat?  Breakfast was a bagel and cream cheese for Gist and some of yesterday’s bread toasted with butter and jam for me – it was sublime.  Gist was mad that she forgot about the bread and had a bagel.  Lunch was leftover ravioli (and leftover salad *shudder* for Gist.  I even hate writing that.)

To make supper, I used a lot of what I bought at the store and some stuff from the fridge/freezer.  The menu?  spinach quiche and salad.  Now let me talk for a bit about the spinach quiche…  This is the best quiche I’ve ever eaten (and I don’t say that because I made it, all of the credit goes to the recipe!)  I found the recipe on Smitten Kitchen.  BTW, have you seen Smitten Kitchen?  The recipes are amazing and the photos are gorgeous.  I’m not very good at shooting food (but I hope this project will help me to get better) and Deb’s pictures are an inspiration.  Okay, the quiche.  It’s really, really good.  I don’t know if it’s the cream cheese or the scallions or the combination of both but it comes out really creamy and onion-y and spinach-y.  The only alteration I make to the recipe as written is that I add a pinch of nutmeg to the custard.  I think that nutmeg improves egg dishes, creamy, cheesy dishes, and spinach; because this dish has all three, I add nutmeg.
Spinach Quiche

Spinach Quiche

  • Pie crust (there are those who make their own and there are those who don’t. I fall into the latter category. I use the Pillsbury prepared crusts in the red box.)
  • 1 3-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature (I bought an 8oz. package – it’s cheaper volume-wise and we’ll use the rest)
  • 1/3 cup half and half (I use milk, or cream if I have it, I don’t keep half and half on hand and don’t buy it special for this recipe)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 4 to 6 green onions, sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • Pinch of nutmeg (my addition)

Preheat oven to 425°F. Beat cream cheese in medium bowl until smooth. Gradually beat in half and half and eggs. Mix in remaining ingredients. Pour mixture into prepared crust. Bake until crust is golden brown and filling is set, about 25 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before serving.

This dish is, as Deb says, better the next day.

Now for the cost breakdown…  We usually get six servings out the quiche.  To make it I used one crust (1/2 package) that was in the freezer.  I think I bought it in November and I have no idea how much the box cost (Peapod sells them for $2.99, I can guarantee Market Basket sells them for less but we’ll use the Peapod number for now) so the crust was $1.49.  I bought my eggs on sale last week for $.99 a dozen, that’s $.33 of eggs.  I used a little less than half of the 8oz. package of cream cheese, so that’s $.40.   I have a half-gallon of milk that cost $1, I used a third of a cup, there are 24 third-cups in a half gallon so that’s about $.05, right?  I used about a half of the cheddar cheese – $1 – and about a quarter of the parm – $.87 – and six scallions from a bunch of ten $.27.   That’s $4.41.  Divided by six, that’s $.74 a serving for the quiche.  When we add the salad (using the same calculation as yesterday) it adds up to $1.40.  Not too shabby!

Again, thank for the comments!  I’m really glad you are interested in this thing I’m doing : )

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “More food!

  1. I’m usually weirded out by quiche, but that sounds delicious. I’ll definitely have to try her recipe.

    On a side note, have you seen 101 Cookbooks? (http://www.101cookbooks.com/index.html) I highly recommend it for delicious, relatively easy, vegetarian dishes.

  2. Thanks again! I’ve never made quiche. Maybe I’ll try it someday. I’ll be checking out Smitten Kitchen for sure.

Leave a Reply

