Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Butternut Squash Pizza

1 Comment

Butternut Squash Pizza

I love butternut squash and I especially love it roasted. This recipe is another winner from Didi Emmons’s Vegetarian Planet.  The idea for the recipe came to her at Chez Panisse Cafe in Berkeley, CA where she had a similar pizza that she wanted to re-create at home – I’m glad she did!

Butternut Squash Pizza with Rosemary
Recipe courtesy of Vegetarian Planet

  • 1 cup thinly sliced onion
  • 1/2 butternut squash – peeled, seeded, and thinly sliced
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary (or sage) or 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary (or sage) – I used both dried rosemary and sage – I love them both too much to pick!
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • pizza dough – home-made or store-bought
  • 1 tablespoon cornmeal
  • 2 tablespoons grated Asiago or Parmesan cheese – I used Parmesan

Preheat oven to 400F.  Place sliced onion and squash in a roasting pan.  Sprinkle with herbs, salt, pepper, and 2 tablespoons of the olive oil; toss to coat.  Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until onions are lightly browned and squash is tender; set aside.

Increase oven temperature to 550F. On a floured surface, roll out your pizza dough. Place the dough on a pizza peel sprinkled with cornmeal if you have a stone in your oven, or on baking sheet sprinkled with cornmeal (I also put a piece of parchment paper on the pan). Distribute squash mixture, cheese and the additional 1 tablespoon of olive oil over the dough and continue baking for 10 to 15 minutes, checking occasionally, or until the crust is firm.

Look how good it looks…

Day 14/365 - Sunday, March 22nd 2009 - Butternut Squash Pizza

It tastes even better!

For tonight’s supper, I’m still using pantry staples and food that was purchased last week, tomorrow I’ll be back at the store starting fresh for the week with another $60.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Butternut Squash Pizza

  1. Thank you for posting this Marianne! I have misplaced my copy of Vegetarian Planet in the process of moving and I needed this recipe! It is delicious. I am preparing this as grilled mini pizza’s on our local farm tour in a couple weeks, to feature our local fall produce, local cheese, and herbs. I just love that cookbook, everything I’ve tried has been great and the recipes are well written.

Leave a Reply

