Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Surreal Shopping List

Leave a comment

Day 19/365 - Friday, March 27th 2009

I’m going to be posting twice today – this post will contain my final receipt of the week and the next will have a tasty recipe.

Friday’s shopping trip was totally bizarre.  I was contacted by a reporter from the local paper, the Lowell Sun, about maybe doing a story on The $60 a Week Project.  Kathleen, the reporter, asked if I’d be willing to go shopping with her and a photographer and talk about the project.  So that’s what we did yesterday and, let me tell you, shopping with an entourage is a wacky experience!  Both Kathleen and the photographer (I forget his name) were very nice but it was still very weird.  Anyway, I think the story’s going to run next Friday – I’ll keep you posted.

So what did I buy…

  • 1 portabello mushroom for $.87
  • 1 bunch (of 3) leeks for $2.49
  • 1 tub of sage for $1.99
  • 1 12oz. package of white mushrooms for $1.99
  • 1 cucumber for $.60
  • 4 lemons for $1
  • 1 bunch of radishes for $.99
  • 1 block of Gruyere for $3.70
  • 1 box of pasta shells for $1
  • 2 15oz. cans of white beans for $1.34
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes for $.99

Total? $16.96.  My total for the week?  $49.34 which means that I came in at $10.66 under budget – yay!

That picture up there is of my grocery-cash envelope.  All of the tips for how to live on a budget suggest using envelopes with cash to manage your money – they all suggest it because it works.  It’s much harder to part with cold-hard cash than it is to swipe the debit card.  I take $60 out on Monday and keep it in my envelope, it keeps me honest!

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

