Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Bread Machine Pretzels

3 Comments

Day 21/365 - Sunday, March 29th 2009 - Bread Machine Pretzels

Time for a confession – I ate pretzels for supper last night (and they were good!)  I had a nice big salad with my pretzels and, while it was very tasty, my poor salad’s only purpose was to allow me to say “No” if anyone asked me if pretzels were really what I had for supper.   Why pretzels? Well, I had a craving and all of the ingredients to satisfy that craving in the kitchen, so I went with it.  My original menu for last night was Tuscan White Beans with Sage, a lovely dish that I just wasn’t in the mood for – don’t worry, it’s on the menu for tonight.

These particular pretzels are super-easy because I use my bread machine to make the dough.  Once the machine has done the heavy lifting I’m left with this…

Bread Machine Pretzels

…Which I roll out, shape and boil…

Bread Machine Pretzels

…They get baked, I make a salad and open a beer, and *Bingo* craving satisfied! A happy ending!

Bread Machine Pretzels
Recipe courtesy of Better Homes & Gardens The Complete Guide to Bread Machine Baking

Directions are for a 1.5 lb. “loaf”

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 Tbs. water
  • 1 Tbs. oil
  • 3 cups bread flour (I used 2 c. bread flour and 1 c. all-purpose flour)
  • 2 Tbs. sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 tsp. bread machine yeast
  • 3 Tbs. baking soda
  • Egg wash or melted butter
  • Kosher salt

Add all ingredients through the yeast into your bread machine.  Run the dough cycle.  When the cycle is complete, remove the dough from the machine, punch it down and let it rest for 10 minutes.  Roll your dough out into a 12×8″ rectangle and divide it into 16 equal pieces.  Shape each of the pieces into your preferred pretzel shape – I went with the classic.  Place on 2 greased (or parchment-papered) baking sheets.  Preheat your oven to 475F.  Put some water and the baking soda into a pot or deep skillet and bring it to a boil.

Once the oven is preheated, bake your pretzels for 4 minutes.  Remove them from the oven and lower the oven temperature to 350F.  Boil the par-baked pretzels for 2 minutes (1 minute on each side) and place them on a clean kitchen towel (or paper towel) to dry.  Once all of the pretzels are boiled and dry, put them back on the baking sheets.  Brush them with either egg wash or butter and sprinkle with salt.  Bake at 350F until golden brown – 20 to 25 minutes.  Cool on wire racks and eat with nice grainy mustard.

The entire meal was prepared with ingredients I had around the house – I can’t stress it enough – a well-stocked pantry is your friend!

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Bread Machine Pretzels

  1. what beautiful pretzels!
    I take pictures, cook, and knit also. So glad I found your blog, your photos are beautiful. cheers, a

  2. MMMMMM pretzels for dinner. mmmmmm thanks.

  3. I just made these. with a couple changes but OMG they are so good. I will have a few pics of my own on my wordpress blog a little later.

Leave a Reply

