Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Tuscan Beans with Sage

1 Comment

Tuscan White Beans with Sage

This is a tasty, healthy and cheap supper that is easily made with on-hand ingredients.  It packs a flavor punch that is greater than the sum of its parts and it’s incredibly vegan-friendly.  It’s also super-quick – 20 minutes from start to finish.

Tuscan White Beans with Sage

Fresh sage makes the dish sing, but if you’re in a pinch you can also use dried. This is a perfect last-minute meal to make with pantry ingredients.

Tuscan White Beans with Sage

Tuscan Beans with Sage
Recipe courtesy of Moosewood Restaurant Lowe Fat Favorites

  • 1-2 Tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2-1/2 cups fresh or canned tomatoes (28oz can)
  • 1-1/2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice (I use the juice of one lemon)
  • 3 cups cooked cannelleni (two 15oz cans, drained)
  • Salt and ground black pepper to taste

Combine the sage, garlic and oil in a saucepan and saute on medium-low heat for several minutes, until the garlic is golden. Add the tomatoes, lemon juice and cannelleni and continue to cook for about 10 minutes, until everything is hot. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately or chill to serve later.

That’s it!  That’s all there is to it.  I serve this dish as a chunky sauce for pasta with a grate of fresh Parmesan.  It would also be good on its own, with crusty bread and a salad, or thinned out as a soup.

Vegan version:

Tuscan Beans with Sage

Not-so-vegan version:

Tuscan Beans with Sage

In other news, I am desperately trying to avoid going to the supermarket today but I don’t think it’s going to work out for me.  I am also making two loaves of No-Knead Bread, one to bring to Amanda’s for our weekly potluck and one as a surprise for a friend.

For those of you who’ve stopped by from Gourmet Gal’s blog – welcome and thanks reading!

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Tuscan Beans with Sage

  1. Killa!
    I love cannelloni or Tuscan beans. Some times I will just throw a chopped up clove of garlic in a hot pan with oil s&p and some dry thyme… then dump the beans on top and filp them around until they start to break down… drown them in Olive Oil and eat them with crackers or bread…. mmmmmm.

    i will try yours with sage as well. Sounds delicious.

    swing by and check out my little site sometime?
    http://www.potatocandies.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

