Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Potato Leek Frittata

3 Comments

I love frittata.  My love was rekindled this past summer when I was deep in the throes of World Peas CSA veggie madness. It was probably right around this week…

Day 196 - Thursday, August 7th 2008

Veggie! Madness!

I had nothing in the kitchen except for an obscene amount of vegetables, some eggs and some cheese.  Both Gist and I were starving and needed to eat STAT.  Frittata to the rescue!  I took some onions and some pattypan (such a fun word!), sautéed them in butter until they were nice and golden, poured over some eggs and added some cheese, cooked the whole thing for a bit on the stove top and then put it in the oven until it was golden and puffy.  We ate that particular frittata with a salad (of course) and my love for frittata was rekindled in a major way – I made quite a few more that summer *sigh* So, when I had a leftover leek from my Mushroom-Leek Pizza I knew exactly what I was going to do with it.

Frittata is a great dish – it’s easy, cheap and a great way to use leftovers.  It tastes great cold, room-temperature or hot.  It can be made ahead and it’s very forgiving.  It’s filling and nourishing.  I love it.  Tonight’s frittata is Potato Leek.  I had the leftover leek that I wasn’t about to let go to waste (and some extra Gruyere that was also bought for the pizza) and I just love potatoes.  It’s also Wednesday, which means yoga, so I needed something that could be either prepared ahead or quickly.

I started my frittata in the afternoon, cooking both the potatoes and leeks, and grating the cheese.

Potato Leek Frittata

Potato Leek Frittata

Potato Leek Frittata

Potato Leek Frittata

Then I popped everything in the fridge to be assembled later. When I got home from yoga, I heated up the veggies:

Potato Leek Frittata

Beat together some eggs, milk and salt and pepper:

Potato Leek Frittata

Dumped them in my pan with the veggies and scrambled, over medium heat, for a bit:

Potato Leek Frittata

Added the cheese, and scrambled a bit more, and then let everything cook slowly to allow the bottom to set:

Potato Leek Frittata

Popped the whole mess into a 400F oven to bake, and finished it off under the broiler until it was set, golden and yummy!

Potato Leek Frittata

I served my frittata with a salad and it was delicious!

Potato Leek Frittata

Frittata is one of those things that I prepare without a recipe because it is pretty intuitive.  This is what I used for this particular frittata:

  • 1 leek ( the white part and the inner leaves of the green part)
  • 1 large red potato
  • Grated cheese – I used a mixture of Gruyere, Emmentaler and Parmesan – I used the amount that’s in the photo above – maybe a cup and a half?
  • 7 eggs
  • A dash, maybe 1/4 cup, of milk
  • Salt and pepper
  • Olive oli & butter

I sautéed the potatoes over medium-high heat until they were golden.  Then I added some water, maybe 1/2 cup, to the hot skillet and continued to cook the potatoes until the water evaporated.  I set the cooked potatoes aside and sautéed the leeks (still over medium-high) until they were tender.  Because I was making this part ahead, I dumped the leeks in with the potatoes and put them in the fridge – if I hadn’t been making it ahead, I would have added the potatoes back to the skillet.  I also seasoned both the potatoes and the leeks with salt and pepper as I was cooking them.

I turned the heat under my skillet down to medium.  Then I beat together the eggs, milk and some salt and pepper.  I added the egg mixture and started to scramble the eggs with the veggies.  Once curds began to form I added the cheese.  I continued to scramble just until everything was combined nicely and I let the whole mixture sit over the heat until the bottom set.  Once the bottom set, I put the whole thing in the oven and baked until the top was still a bit moist.  I turned on the broiler and broiled until everything was set and golden.  I cut my frittata into wedges and served it with a salad.

The only special equipment you need is a skillet that can go from the stove top to the oven.  Non-stick is nice, but not necessary.  I use a skillet that I got from IKEA.  It’s part of the 365 series.  I bought a set that included three saucepans (small, medium and large), a large non-stick skillet and lids for all of them.  I love the whole set and it cost me all of $40.

If you want more instruction or ideas for making frittata, here are a few links:

I also have a shopping list to share with you.  I went to two stores today because I was hoping that the bulk pine nuts sold at Hannaford would be cheaper than packaged pine nuts – they weren’t.  BUT, I got a great deal on eggs and pasta at Hannaford!  I also went shopping before I ate lunch, a bad idea if there ever was one – I bet you can tell which items that weren’t on the list were purchased because I was hungry…

Hannaford List

  • 1 pizza dough ball for $1.79 – no time to make my own!
  • 1 bag of Hannaford BBQ chips for $2.50
  • 2 dozen eggs for $1.94
  • 1 box of Hannaford penne for $.87
  • 1 bunch of six bananas for $1.43
  • 1 bunch of celery for $1.59
  • 1 bunch of green seedless grapes for $1.40
  • 1 large red potato for $.36

Total: $11.88

Market Basket List

  • 5oz. pine nuts for $3.99
  • 1.5 lbs. green beans for $2.46
  • 1 bunch of scallions for $.50
  • 4 lemons for $1
  • 1 head of green leaf lettuce for $.99
  • 1 variety package of 8 Drumsticks (the ice cream cones, not the chicken parts) for $4.89
  • 1 block of Emmentaler, original price $4.40 but I had a $1 off coupon so it was $3.40
  • 1 wedge of Parmesan for $4.33
  • 1 block of Gruyere, original price $3.63 but I had a $1 off coupon so it was $2.63
  • 1 bag of Market Basket mini ravioli for $2.19
  • 1 pint of Market Basket ricotta for $1.89
  • 1 half-gallon of milk for $1.59
  • 1 block of Neufatchel for $.99
  • 1 can of vegetable broth for $.99
  • 1 jar of Prego sauce for $2.50 – As a general rule, I don’t buy or use jarred sauce.  I’m going away on Thursday night and Gist will make herself ravioli with Prego for supper.  She likes it, she makes it for herself, it works!
  • 1 jar of Nutella, original price $2.99 but I had a $1 off coupon so it was $1.99
  • 1 package of six whole grain bagels for $1.99

Total: 38.32

My total for the week so far?  $50.20.  My plan was for this to be my only shopping trip of the week, if that’s the case, I will end the week with $9.80 left over.

*If you guessed BBQ chips, Drumsticks – the most expensive thing I bought! – and Nutella, you would be correct*

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Potato Leek Frittata

  1. I share your love of frittatas. I made my first one this fall, and it’s one of my go to dinner/lunch dishes. So quick and easy, and so so tasty!

  2. ok…this is probably the only blog that I could ever say this about: I don’t know which I like better, the photography or the conversation about the food!!!

  3. all those veggies were just chillin in your kitchen?

Leave a Reply

