Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Lemon-Lavender Sorbet

2 Comments

IMG_3918

I love sorbet, especially lemon sorbet.  There’s something so bright and refreshing about it – it’s the perfect combination of tart, sweet and cold.  It’s also super-easy to prepare if you have an ice cream maker*.

This recipe was inspired by my brother Eddy**, but came right out of the instruction manual that came with my ice cream maker.  My only substitution/addition? 1 cup of lavender-infused sugar.  The sorbet is nothing more than a simple syrup…

Lavender-Lemon Sorbet

Combined with lots of lemon juice and zest…

Lavender-Lemon Sorbet
I juiced eight lemons – EIGHT! Good thing Market Basket sells them for 4/$1!

Then the lemon/syrup mixture is cooled and added to the machine…

Lavender-Lemon Sorbet

And churned until it is the consistency of frozen lemonade…

Lavender-Lemon Sorbet

Then it gets frozen overnight…

Lavender-Lemon Sorbet

The next day you have a full quart of yummy sorbet, without any pesky additives and it only cost a whopping $2.50 (those pints of sorbet you buy in the grocery store often cost twice that).

Lavender-Lemon Sorbet

Lavender-Lemon Sorbet
Recipe adapted from Cuisinart

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup lavender sugar (combine sugar with dried lavender in a jar, let it sit – the longer it sits, the stronger the lavender flavor)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1.5 cups freshly-squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon zest

Combine the sugar and water in a large saucepan and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer without stirring until the sugar dissolves, about 3 to 5 minutes. Cool completely.

When cool, add the lemon juice and zest; stir to combine. Turn the machine on. Pour the lemon mixture into the freezer bowl, and mix until the mixture thickens, about 25 to 30 minutes. The sorbet will have a soft texture similar to frozen lemonade. Transfer the sorbet to an airtight container and place in freezer for at least 2 hours.

Remove from freezer about 15 minutes before serving.

Gist and I had an impromptu dinner party on Tuesday, Emily and Jeremy both got to witness the madness that is me taking a million pictures of my food.  We had mac-n-cheese and roasted green beans to eat and this sorbet for dessert.  It was the perfect end to a rich meal – light, cool, refreshing, and tart!

* The ice cream maker has paid for itself in savings.  It’s worth it, especially if you live with an ice cream fiend, as I do.

** Eddy is a classically-trained, professional chef.  He makes his own sorbet all the time.  He told me how to do it but, as I am not a professional, I had to follow a recipe.

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Lemon-Lavender Sorbet

  1. Looks like we are on the same page with Lavender–I’ll have to try this one soon (or, whenever I have made lavender sugar).

  2. Pingback: Lemon Lavender Sorbet « Heat, Knives, and Chemicals

Leave a Reply

