Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Baked Potato Soup

2 Comments

Baked Potato Soup

Saturday was a cold and rainy spring day – it honestly felt more like October than April.  The cure for a cold, rainy day?  Hot soup!

Gist requested Baked Potato Soup so I headed onto the internets to find a recipe.  I had made Baked Potato Soup a loooong time and I needed a refresher course.  I stumbled across this recipe from Rachael Ray and was intrigued by her use of cauliflower, so I decided that my soup would also use cauliflower, rather than a roux and cream, as a thickener.

I started by baking three russet potatoes at 350F for a little over an hour.  Make sure you poke holes in them – I’ve had potatoes explode on me and it isn’t pretty.

Baked Potato Soup
The smell of baking potatoes? Heavenly!

Once the potatoes were done, I let the cool a bit and chopped up a medium onion, half of a head of cauliflower and the white parts of five scallions.

Baked Potato Soup

My chunks were pretty large because I knew I’d be puréeing the soup later. I melted some butter in my soup pot and tossed the veggies right in…

Baked Potato Soup

…And I sautéed them until the onions were translucent. I scooped out the insides of two of the potatoes and added them to the pot. I then added a can of veggie broth along with a half of a can (ish) of water, and simmered the veggies until they were tender.

Baked Potato Soup

In the meantime, I chopped up the potato skins and the third whole potato.

Baked Potato Soup

Once the veggies were tender, I added two cups of milk and used my immersion blender to purée everything. I stirred in the chopped potato skins and whole potato…

Baked Potato Soup

…along with a third of a cup of grated cheddar cheese. I adjusted for seasonings and served garnished with scallions, grated cheddar cheese, bacon (for me), and sour cream (for Gist). It was yummy!

Baked Potato Soup

The cauliflower added a really nice flavor but wasn’t at all overpowering.  It also thickened the soup quite nicely.  This recipe was definitely a hit and will be made again!

Baked Potato Soup

  • 3 russet potatoes, baked (bake them don’t microwave them – this is very important!)
  • 1 tbs. butter
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1/2 head of cauliflower
  • 5 scallions
  • 1 can of vegetable broth
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/3 cup grated cheddar cheese, plus a little more for garnish
  • Sour cream to garnish
  • Bacon or Bacos to garnish – Bacos are vegetarian

Bake the potatoes at 350F for about an hour and let them cool.  Roughly chop the onion and cauliflower.  Chop the scallions.  Melt the butter over medium high heat and add the onion, scallion whites and cauliflower.  Sauté the vegetables until the onions are translucent.

Add the broth plus 1/2 can of water along with the insides of two of the potatoes, and simmer until the vegetables are tender.  Meanwhile dice the last potato and the potato skins.

Once the veggies are tender, add the milk and purée until smooth and creamy.  Add the potato and skins, stir to combine.  Add the grated cheese.  Once the cheese is melted, serve with garnishes.

I also made a trip to the Basket today…

  • 1 bunch of organic kale for $1.29
  • 6 170g containers of Chobani fat-free Greek yoghurt – honey flavor – $6
  • 1 16oz. jar of Teddie all-natural, extra-chunky peanut butter for $2.50
  • 1 2lb., 10oz. container of Market Basket rolled oats for $2
  • 1 20 oz. can of Dole crushed pineapple in juice for $1.39
  • 1 jar of green Tabasco for $1.19

Total: $14.37.  This will make tonight’s supper – African Pineapple Peanut Stew – and granola.

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Baked Potato Soup

  1. That looks so awesome.

  2. Pingback: Startitis « Wound Up Tight!

Leave a Reply

