Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Vindaloo Vegetables

3 Comments

Vindaloo Vegetables

Remember that half-head of cauliflower I had left over from the Baked Potato Soup?  Well, I knew I needed to use it by Wednesday so I had to find a recipe that both used a bit of cauliflower and was slow-cooker friendly.  I went right to Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker and found a perfect match – Vindaloo Vegetables.

This dish was a hit, one of those things that I could just eat over and over again, and Gist liked it so much that she did a little dance when I put the leftovers in her lunch the next day.  It tastes just like Indian takeaway without the drive or delivery charge.

There’s a bit of prep work involved in this recipe but it’s so worth it.  The secret to the dish is that you make your own spice paste…

Vindaloo Vegetables

It contains garlic, fresh ginger, brown sugar, coriander, cumin, dried mustard, cayenne, turmeric, and vinegar.  Once it’s all blended, it smells amazing!

The only other prep (other than chopping veggies) is that you sauté the onions and carrots before they are added to the slow cooker.

Vindaloo Vegetables

Once the carrots and onions are sautéed, they get put in the slow cooker with the spice mixture and heated gently on low.

Vindaloo Vegetables

Then add the rest of the ingredients.

Vindaloo Vegetables
You’ll notice that the color of my slow cooker changed – I started in the small cooker but it was too small; everything then got dumped into the big slow cooker.

And let everything cook on low for about six hours. After six hours, it will look like this:

Vindaloo Vegetables

At thin point,  you should add some peas to the pot to gently cook them. I totally forgot about the peas when I was making this on Wednesday evening – I got home from yoga at 8:30 pm, I was starving and I’m amazed I managed to heat the naan. Oh well, it was good without the peas.

Vindaloo Vegetables
Recipe courtesy of Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 tbsp. peeled and chopped fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp. light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper, or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. turmeric
  • 1 tbsp. white wine vinegar – I didn’t have white wine vinegar, I used cider vinegar
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 small carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1 small bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets
  • 2 small zucchini, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked kidney beans (or one 15.5 ounce canned beans, rinsed and drained) – I actually used chick peas.
  • 1 6-ounce can tomato paste blended with 1 1/2 cup hot water
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup frozen green peas, thawed

In a blender or food processor, combine the 1 tbsp. of oil, garlic, ginger, brown sugar, coriander, cumin, mustard, cayenne, turmeric, and vinegar; process until smooth and set aside.

Heat the remaining oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the onions and carrots and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.

Transfer the onion and carrot mixture to a 4-quart slow cooker and turn it on Low.  Add the spice paste from the blender and cook, stirring, for 1 minute.  Add the bell pepper, cauliflower, zucchini, and beans.  Add the tomato paste mixture, season with salt and pepper, cover, and cook on Low for 6 hours.

A few minutes before serving, add the peas and allow to heat through for about 10 minutes.  Serve alone, with naan, or over basmati rice.

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Vindaloo Vegetables

  1. Looks great. Roasted cauliflower or pan fried with eggs is really good too–I always thought I hated cauliflower but it just needs to be prepared the right way, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

