Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Tutto Bene

1 Comment

I met with my friend Toni this morning for a photo walk through downtown Lowell – what fun! We headed down the new canalway that follows the Western Canal over to Swamp Locks…

Hamilton Canal Lock

Made our way down Jackson Street…

Jackson Street

And ended up on Back Prescott Street where we noticed that the door to Tutto Bene was open.

Tutto Bene

Now, I’ve been following Gourmet Gal’s posts about Tutto Bene and can’t wait for it to open – I was actually hoping it *was* open when I saw the open door…

Tutto Bene is not open just yet, but the owner, Dick Rourke, was kind enough to let us come in and he gave us a little tour of the place – now I *REALLY* can’t wait for them to open!  The space is quite charming and there is already a nice selection of items on the shelves.  The wine section looks like it’s going to be amazing, and there will be tastings.  I was especially pleased to learn that there will be two budget friendly sections – one for wines under $20 and one for wines under $10 – that news was music to my broke oenophile ears!  They have a set up to buy both olive oil and balsamic vinegar in bulk and they’ll be carrying imported cheeses, chocolate and pasta.  I was told the grand opening was a couple of weeks away – I, for one, can’t wait!

I am all backed up on my $60 a Week recipes – sorry!  In the meantime, I have three shopping trips worth of receipts to share!

Market Basket – April 22nd 2009

  • 1 red pepper for $.70
  • 1 bunch of cilantro for $1.29
  • 1 bunch of scallions for $.34
  • 2 cucumbers for $1
  • 1 lb. carrots for $.69
  • 1 box of Market Basket “Plus” spaghetti (the whole-grain kind in the yellow box) for $1.50
  • 1 small bottle of cider vinegar for $.59

Total = $9.11.  These ingredients made Peanut and Sesame Noodles and an amazing Asian Cucumber Salad.

Trader Joe’s on April 24th 2009

  • 1 10 oz. package of crumbled gorgonzola for $3.69
  • 1 bag of organic chocolate chips for $1.99
  • 1 package of baby roma tomatoes for $1.69

Total = $7.37

Market Basket on April 24th 2009

  • 1 broccoli crown (.91 lb.) for $1.36
  • 1 head of red leaf lettuce for $1.19
  • 1 cucumber for $.50
  • 1 bunch of celery for $.99
  • 1 bunch of radishes for $.99
  • 2 lbs. of yellow onions for $.99
  • 1 small container of Market Basket plain yogurt for $.50
  • 1 lb. of Cabot butter for $1.99
  • 1 pint of ricotta for $1.89
  • 1 quart of milk for $1.59
  • 1 pint of whipping cream for $1.49
  • 1 lb. rigatoni for $1
  • 1 bottle of lemon extract for $3.99
  • 1 box of sea salt for $1.50
  • 1 box of unsweetened chocolate for $2.59
  • 1 jar of Skippy Natural Creamy Peanut Butter (for Gist) for $2.29
  • 1 box of kosher salt for $1.59

Total = $26.44.  This trip to Market Basket plus the Trader Joe’s trip made Rigatoni with Broccoli and Gorgonzola, salad and the most amazing chocolate pudding.  I served it to Gist’s parents on Friday evening and the meal got raves all around.  Pleasing the in-laws?  Priceless!

My total for the week was on the high side – $54.46, but it’s still less than$60.

Bookmark and Share

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Tutto Bene

  1. Pingback: Still raining here in Lowell, Massachusetts but on the bright side, Tutto Bene is open for business! « Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Leave a Reply

