Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

Some people learn things the easy way…

Leave a comment

Some people learn things the easy way...

….And then there’s me. My foot has hurt for a long time. The furthest back that I remember it hurting is May 5th (Gist’s birthday) which means that it probably hurt before that but I don’t remember it.

Anyway, my foot has hurt for awhile, at least a month, and I hadn’t really done anything about it until now. (That’s actually not true, I *pretended* to do something about it – I did everything I normally do but with more complaining and Aleve. And ice. When I noticed swelling, which I tried hard not to notice because that wold mean something was wrong, I’d ice it.) So the pain finally became too much for my stubborn self and I went to my primary care physician last week. She referred me to a podiatrist, and I went to see him today.

His verdict? Torn tendons and ligaments. What that means for me? No walking except to get around and I should probably limit that, no biking, no practicing yoga, no standing for long periods, and no driving my manual transmission car.** Oh, and I have to wear that super-sexy boot. All. the. time. For at least three to four weeks.

He did grudgingly allow swimming so I wouldn’t go stir-crazy but I can’t do anything too vigorous and I must put my boot on once I get out of the water. To add a little positivity to this post I can still drive an automatic, knit, sit and read, nap, watch teevee, drink beer, and cook.

Lesson learned? Don’t be a stubborn fool, if it hurts that much and for that long all the pretending in the world won’t make it otherwise.

**Had it been my right foot, I wouldn’t have been able to drive at all.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

