Art is the Handmaid of Human Good

Life in Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

February Health Month

1 Comment

Snow!

February is starting with a pretty awesome bang. It’s snowing right now and the snow is forecasted to continue throughout today and tomorrow and we’re supposed to end up with 20 inches. I couldn’t be happier!

I am also pretty excited to be blogging my February Health Month experience.  Health Month is an interactive online game that encourages you to be happier and healthier.  I played for the first time in January and had such a great experience that I signed up to blog my experience playing the game in February.

The game begins on the first of every month and you can play by yourself (which is what Gist is doing)  or as a member of a team, which is what I’m doing: Team Crafty.  Prior to the start of the month you make rules for yourself and you begin the month with ten life points.  During the course of the month, if you follow your rules  you earn pieces of fruit which can be used to heal yourself or others.  If you don’t follow your rules, you lose life points.  The goal is to end the month with at least 1 life point, if you do that you end up on The Wall of Awesomeness.

What I really like about Health Month is that the rule options focus on both mental and physical health.  I am using my rules as a way to prioritize my time and to ensure that I am mindful of doing things I love to do instead of things that I have to do.  I have eight rules for February:

  • Cook dinner six days a week
  • Eat raw fruit at least five days a week
  • Floss every day
  • Read a book for at least 30 minutes three days a week
  • Walk at least eight miles a week (snowshoeing counts!)
  • Study Lowell’s Public Matters (a class I am taking) at least one day a week
  • Don’t deviate from the family budget every day
  • Commute by bike at least one day a week

After playing last month, I kept some of the same rules, altered some and picked some new rules all together.  I am pretty excited about my February game and will be checking in here at least once a week my progress.  If you’re already playing Health Month and want to be friends, I am Mariannika over there.

Author: Marianne

Hi my name is Marianne Gries, welcome to Art is the Handmaid of Human Good. I use this space to write about and share pictures of things that interest me. That includes my life in Lowell, my adventures in car-lite living, the food I cook and eat, my dogs, home improvement projects, vacations, knitting, and interesting things and places I see and visit. Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “February Health Month

  1. That game sounds like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

